Review: Boundless by Cynthia Hand

boundless

Boundless by Cynthia Hand
Series: Unearthly #3
Published by: HarperTeen on January 22nd 2013
Genre: Paranormal, Angels, Fantasy, Young Adult
Pages: 448 (Hardcover)
Source: Purchased in hardcover

amazongoodreads

My Rating: 5 stars2 all time favorite

The past few years have held more surprises than part-angel Clara Gardner could ever have anticipated. Yet from the dizzying highs of first love, to the agonizing low of losing someone close to her, the one thing she can no longer deny is that she was never meant to live a normal life.

Since discovering the special role she plays among the other angel-bloods, Clara has been determined to protect Tucker Avery from the evil that follows her . . . even if it means breaking both their hearts. Leaving town seems like the best option, so she’s headed back to California – and so is Christian Prescott, the irresistible boy from the vision that started her on this journey in the first place.

As Clara makes her way in a world that is frighteningly new, she discovers that the fallen angel who attacked her is watching her every move. And he’s not the only one. . . . With the battle against the Black Wings looming, Clara knows she must finally fulfill her destiny. But it won’t come without sacrifices and betrayal.

In the riveting finale of the Unearthly series, Clara must decide her fate once and for all.

my thoughts 2

I wanna cry… This was an absolute fantastic ending to one of my all time favorite trilogies! I’m a hardcore Tucker fan that’s for sure! If you have me on Goodreads as a friend, you probably saw how much I updated my progress.. I fangirled just a little. :)

07/29 page 114 25.0% “I WANT TUCKER!!!!! :((“
07/29 page 132 29.0% “weird… 2 books with the same situation… how does this happen?”
07/29 page 244 54.0% “TUCKER! TUCKER! TUCKER! TUCKER!!!!”
07/29 page 251 56.0% “I CANT! I CANT! I CANT!!!! OH MY LORD♥♥♥”
07/30 page 314 70.0% “NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! “

See what I mean? :)

So I’m not going to go into detail about what happens in this considering it is the last one in the series and I don’t want to spoil it for anyone that hasn’t already read this trilogy. Just know, it was a fantastic ending to the trilogy and couldn’t have been done better! I adored the ending and I was literally grinning extremely big and was probably jumping up and down a little. My boyfriend kept looking at me like I had completely lost my marbles while reading. I would literally laugh out loud at some parts or say my feelings out loud.

Words cannot describe my love for this trilogy… And Tucker. :)

I do wish there would be more books to the trilogy because I want to see everyone’s life after Boundless. Well that, and I want more Tucker.

There were so many plot twists that I did not see coming and I’m sure my heart was racing a lot of the time. I had a VERY difficult time putting the book down. Had I not been reading other books and working, I probably could have finished this in one sitting. I absolutely love Cynthia Hand’s writing style and Clara’s personality. Her sarcasm and attitude was perfect and easy to relate with. Well, not so much being an angel, but you get my point. It was very easy to connect with these characters and fall in love with a bunch of them! A lot of tears- happy and sad- were shed throughout this trilogy. Even though this does feature a love triangle, it is one that is done perfectly and that doesn’t get annoying. Well, it could, especially with how much I love Tucker, but just know it was a little hard at times for me not to fall for Christian as well. He’s a great guy as well, but just Tucker… I will always choose Tucker over Christian.

favorite quotes

“You figure out those things that give your life meaning, and you hold onto them. You try to stop worrying about the stuff you can’t control.” — page 2

.

“I love you,” he murmurs. “Can you feel that? You. Not some destiny I think I’m called to. You. I’m with you. My strength. My soul. My heart. Feel it.” — page 389

.

“Could you say it again?” he asks. “My memory’s a little fuzzy.”
“Which part?” The part where I said I wanted to stay with you forever?”
“Yeah,” he murmurs, his face close to mine, his breath hot on my cheek.
“When I said that I love you?”
He pulls back a little, searches my eyes with his. “Yes. Say it.”
“I love you.”
He takes a deep, happy breath. “I love you,” he says back. “I love you, Clara.”
Then his gaze drops to my lips again, and he leans in, and the rest of the world simply goes away.” — page 430

.

“She shrugs.”Men”
“Men.”
“If we can send one man to the moon, why can’t we send them all there?” ― Cynthia Hand, Boundless

.

“How did you do that?”
I shrug. “I click my heels three times and say, ‘There’s no place like home.’”
“Uh-huh. So … you think this is your home? My barn? His tone is playful, but the look he’s giving me is dead serious. A question.
“Haven’t you guessed by now?” I say, my heart hammering. “My home is you.” ― Cynthia Hand, Boundless

.

Challenges This Belongs To:

summer of 50 challenge 2014rewind SeriouslySeries2014-02 Series-Challenge-Button-take2

2 thoughts on “Review: Boundless by Cynthia Hand

  1. I read the first two books last summer but never finished the series. I need to do that soon! I think I preferred Christian at first but moved over to Tucker’s side in the second book.

Leave a Reply

