Review: Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

lola and the boy next door

Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins
Series: Anna and the French Kiss #2
First Published by: Dutton Books on September 29th 2011
Genre: Romance, Contemporary, Chick Lit, Young Adult
Pages: 338 (Paperback)
Source: Purchased in paperback

amazongoodreads

My Rating: 5 stars2 all time favorite

 

Lola Nolan is a budding costume designer, and for her, the more outrageous, sparkly, and fun the outfit, the better. And everything is pretty perfect in her life (right down to her hot rocker boyfriend) until the Bell twins, Calliope and Cricket, return to the neighborhood. When Cricket, a gifted inventor, steps out from his twin sister’s shadow and back into Lola’s life, she must finally reconcile a lifetime of feelings for the boy next door.

my thoughts 2

I adored this book, but not as much as Anna and the French Kiss, but loved nonetheless.

Lola loves to wear outrageous outfits- things people normally don’t wear. Everything has been absolutely perfect for her lately. She even has a 22 year old boyfriend who she loves very much. Until, the Bell twins move back in next door and her whole world shatters. Never did she think she would have to see the twins again. But they are back and Lola tries her best to avoid Cricket. But she can’t hide her feelings for him for very long.

I loved how dorky and sweet Cricket was. My typical boy I’d be looking at? Well, no. But he was adorable and I seriously loved how dorky he was! He was a complete sweetheart and her dads loved him! Let’s talk about the fact that Lola has 2 dads… I LOVED how she had 2 dads!!! I haven’t come across a book yet that involves this! I absolutely loved her 2 dads and loved how they reacted to some situations that occurred. I would definitely have them as my parents if that were possible!
I didn’t really like Calliope which is Cricket’s twin sister. Even at the end, my feelings for her didn’t drastically change, if that much. She was just incredibly rude and in her own little “me, me, me” bubble and it drove me crazy. I felt bad for Cricket at times because of how Calliope and her family were towards him. I also didn’t really like Max who is Lola’s 22 year old boyfriend. I knew from the beginning that I would most likely hate him by the end of the book, and it did happen. He was a complete jerk and a TERRIBLE boyfriend!

Lola is a want-to be fashion designer and you can definitely see that in how she dresses and the way she acts. I loved her spunk and her attitude. She was also an adorable character to get to know and adore. I loved how she presented herself and didn’t let people get to her because of who she was and how she dressed. Definitely up there on favorite characters for sure!
I LOVEDDD Anna and St. Clair’s appearance! I ADORE those two so much! Definitely one of my all time favorite couples. St. Clair cracks me up.

I CANNOT wait to see meet Isla again in Isla and the Happily Ever After and get to see Josh again!!

favorite quotes

“Remember that day I made you the elevator?” he suddenly asks.
I give him a faint smile. “How could I forget?”
“That was the day I had my first kiss.”
My smile fades.
“I’m better now,” He sets the apple beside me. “At kissing, just so you know.”– page 135

.

“You have a roommate.”
“Yeah.” He sounds confused.
“The, um, picture on your door surprised me.”
“NO. No. I prefer my women with…fewer carnivorous beasts and less weaponry.” He pauses and smiles. “Naked is okay. What she needs are a golden retriever and a telescope. Maybe then it would do it for me.”
I laugh.
“A squirrel and a laboratory beaker?”
“A bunny rabbit and a flip chart,” I say.
“Only if the flip chart has mathematical equations on it.”
I fake swoon onto his bed. “Too much, too much!”– page 200

.

“Why didn’t you guys dress up?” Lindsey asks.
“We did.” Calliope cracks her first smile. “we’re dressed as twins.”
Lindsey grins back. “Hmm, I see it now. Fraternal or identical?”
“You’d be surprised how many people ask,” Cricket says.
“What do you tell them?” Lindsey asks.
“That I have a penis.”
Oh God. My cheeks burn as they all burst into laughter. Think about something else, Dolores. ANYTHING else. Cucumbers, Bananas, Zucchini. AHHHH! NO NO NO NO NO NO NO. I turn my face away from them as Calliope fakes a yakking sound.”– page 212

.

“Just because something isn’t practical doesn’t mean it’s not worth creating. Sometimes beauty and real-life magic are enough.”– page 227

.

“I know you aren’t perfect. But it’s a person’s imperfections that make them perfect for someone else.” — page 327

.

Challenges This Belongs To:

summer of 50 challenge

 

10 thoughts on “Review: Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

  1. LOVED this one, too! I read it for the first time last week and I was so pleasantly surprised by how much I loved it :) I actually liked it even better than Anna! And I’m really excited for Isla!! I hope that my reserved copy at the library comes in soon!

Leave a Reply

