Review: Half Blood by Jennifer L. Armentrout

half blood

Half Blood by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Series: Covenant #1
First Published by: Spencer Hill Press on October 18th 2011
Genre: Paranormal, Fantasy, Mythology, Young Adult
Pages: 281 (Paperback)
Source: Purchased in paperback

amazongoodreads

My Rating: 5 stars2 all time favorite

The Hematoi descend from the unions of gods and mortals, and the children of two Hematoi pure bloods have godlike powers. Children of Hematoi and mortals–well, not so much. Half-bloods only have two options: become trained Sentinels who hunt and kill daimons or become servants in the homes of the pures. Seventeen-year-old Alexandria would rather risk her life fighting than waste it scrubbing toilets, but she may end up slumming it anyway. There are several rules that students at the Covenant must follow. Alex has problems with them all, but especially rule #1:Relationships between pures and halfs are forbidden. Unfortunately, she’s crushing hard on the totally hot pure-blood Aiden. But falling for Aiden isn’t her biggest problem–staying alive long enough to graduate the Covenant and become a Sentinel is. If she fails in her duty, she faces a future worse than death or slavery: being turned into a daimon, and being hunted by Aiden. And that would kind of suck.

my thoughts 2

Yet another fantastic book by one of my all time favorite authors: Jennifer L. Armentrout. Seriously, there isn’t anything that she can’t write that won’t be fantastic. I’m not kidding! All the books I’ve read so far by her have all been 5/5 stars and recommended to everyone. Seriously, she is a gifted and talented author!

This book is a little hard to explain the little details about these people, so it’d probably be best to read the synopsis given by Goodreads. :) Alexandria- or Alex- and her mother moved away from the Covenant three years ago. Doing so ruined any chances of Alex being a Sentinel which is the highest ranking for a half-blood. But, one night Alex stumbles upon her mother being murdered by daimons (pronounced demons). With nothing left, Aiden finds her and brings her back to the islands. She has to redeem herself in order to stay in the academy and finish out school, if she can’t do that, then life of slavery. Pures and halfs are not supposed to mix with each other, meaning no relationships between the two. Only pures with pures, and halfs with halfs. If they are caught, the pures get a slap on the wrist and halfs are sentenced to death. No questions or buts. Aiden is a pure, Alex is a half. Aiden is training Alex everyday to bring her back up to where everyone else is in the program.

Seriously, words cannot describe my love for JLA. She has a way of making a lot of her main characters very sarcastic and just fun to be around, which is something I really like about her books. She makes it almost effortless to fall for the characters and easily relate with them. She makes the main male leads extremely sexy and swoon-worthy, it’s unbelievable.

Aiden is most definitely swoon-worthy. Dear lord, he’s just perfection in a bottle. I may start gushing here in a bit because I can’t contain how much I loved this book! I’ll try my best. I loved Alex and her best friend, Caleb’s relationship as well. I loved that her best friend was a guy and not a girl. I don’t know how to feel about Seth- who will make this a love triangle. However, I trust JLA, and I know this will be a love triangle (if it comes to that) that works and one that isn’t annoying. Maybe because I already have my heart set on Aiden, it may get annoying. But I honestly think it will work and it won’t be annoying.

I’m beyond excited to see what happens in Pure and continue on with this amazing series!!!

favorite quotes

“Two people see each other across a room or their skin brushes. Their souls recognize the person as their own. It doesn’t need time to figure it. The soul always knows… whether it’s right or wrong.” — page 102

.

“So a skunk humped my leg earlier.” — page 257

.

“So? What are you going to do about it? Throw your mashed potatoes at me? I’m consumed by terror.” ― Jennifer L. Armentrout, Half-Blood

.

“I was gonna be super pissed in the afterlife if I died a virgin in this crap hole.” ― Jennifer L. Armentrout, Half-Blood

.

Challenges This Belongs To:

summer of 50 challenge

7 thoughts on “Review: Half Blood by Jennifer L. Armentrout

  1. Ohh! I am so glad you liked this book! I haven’t seen any review this on any of the blogs I watch and wasn’t sure if it was awesome or not adding to my TBR!

  2. Yay I am so glad that you liked it! This series is one of my all time favorite series. I agree that it is a hard book to review because there are so many details about each character that makes you love them. This book gave me all the emotions a fantastic book should. I mean it was written by JLA so of course it was going to be a great book! She is one of my favorite authors too =)
    Great review!
    http://bookstothetea.blogspot.com/

  3. I’ve read all the Lux and Dark Elements books that are published up to this moment (except Opposition because I’m rereading Lux), and I’ve been meaning to read Half Blood for AGESSSSS!!!! So glad you like it and I totally need to make a note to stop forgetting to read HB!
    –B

  4. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Books On My Fall To-Be-Read list - Brianna's Bookish ConfessionsBrianna's Bookish Confessions

Leave a Reply

