Review: Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

scarlet

Scarlet by Marissa Meyer
Series: Lunar Chronicles #2
First Published by: Feiwel and Friends on February 5th 2013
Genre: Fantasy, Science Fiction, Dystopia, Young Adult
Pages: 452 (Hardcover)
Source: Purchased in hardcover

amazongoodreads

My Rating: 5 stars2

Cinder, the cyborg mechanic, returns in the second thrilling installment of the bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison–even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive. Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother or the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana, who will do anything for the handsome Prince Kai to become her husband, her king, her prisoner.

my thoughts 2

This was so much better than Cinder!!! WOW! I’m obsessed with this series so far and I’m dying to know what is going to happen next!

WILL CONTAIN SPOILERS IF YOU HAVE NOT READ CINDER: YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED! (SKIP THIS NEXT PARAGRAPH TO GO TO MY REVIEW PORTION)

Cinder recently found out she’s a Lunar, but not just any Lunar, the missing Princess. Now with Queen Levana after her destroying everything in her path, Cinder is on the run for her life. Scarlet’s grandmother has gone missing, she could be dead. While on the look for her grandmother, she meets Wolf. He seems to know where her grandmother might be. Now searching for her grandmother, she finds out something she never expected to happen.

Ehh, not my best synopsis, but it pretty much sums that up! Once the book got about a third of the way in, I couldn’t put the book down. So much stuff was happening that I just had to know what what was going to happen next! I love that Marissa Meyer changes the point of view to other characters and doesn’t just focus on a single character. It makes it a lot easier to understand the world and get an understanding as to what is going on. Had it not changed point of views, I don’t know if I would enjoy it as much as I do!

So we meet Scarlet who is obviously based off of Little Red Riding Hood. I liked Marissa Meyer’s take on this fairy tale, well all the fairy tales so far, she has done a fantastic job at making this world from fairy tales! I love the fantasy/dystopian take on this. I’m definitely on the edge with Wolf, I don’t know if I like him or hate him. One minute he’s all sweet, the next you think he’s betraying everyone. I can’t decide if he’s worth trusting and liking yet. Hopefully he is because he seems like a great character!

My favorite character is definitely Iko, I love how she blurts out whatever she feels. She will definitely tell you if she has a crush on someone and she isn’t afraid to tell you. :)

Definitely loving how this series is going, can’t wait to pick up Cress! (little intimidated by the size, but excited!)

favorite quotes

“We met less than a week ago and in that time I’ve done nothing but lie and cheat and betray you. I know. But if you give me a chance…all I want is to protect you. To be near you. For as long as I’m able.” — page 446

.

“A captain always knows where his ship is. It’s like a psychic bond.”
“If only we had a captain here.” — page 89

.

Challenges This Belongs To:

summer of 50 challenge2014rewind

 

2 thoughts on “Review: Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

Leave a Reply

