Review: Savage Drift by Emmy Laybourne

savage drift

Savage Drift by Emmy Laybourne
Series: Monument 14 #3
Published by: Feiwel & Friends on May 6th 2014
Genre: Dystopia, Science Fiction, Post-Apocalyptic, Young Adult
Pages: 306 (Hardcover)
Source: Giveaway from MacTeenBooks

amazongoodreads

My Rating: 5 stars2 all time favorite

The stunningly fierce conclusion to Emmy Laybourne’s Monument 14trilogy.

The survivors of the Monument 14 have finally made it to the safety of a Canadian refugee camp. Dean and Alex are cautiously starting to hope that a happy ending might be possible.

But for Josie, separated from the group and trapped in a brutal prison camp for exposed Type Os, things have gone from bad to worse. Traumatized by her experiences, she has given up all hope of rescue or safety.

Meanwhile, scared by the government’s unusual interest in her pregnancy, Astrid (with her two protectors, Dean and Jake in tow) joins Niko on his desperate quest to be reunited with his lost love Josie.

Author Emmy Laybourne reaches new heights of tension and romance in this action-packed conclusion to the Monument 14 trilogy.

my thoughts 2

If you thought the sequel was good.. Well guess what? The conclusion is 50 times better!!! This is one of my top ten favorites I’ve read this year! This was an absolutely amazing ending to the trilogy. I almost want another book because I still don’t want to say goodbye to these characters! I had tears in my eyes by the end of the book. It was a perfect ending!

I could not put this book down. That’s how it’s been for this entire trilogy. It is very fast paced (literally the trilogy spans just a little over a month). It’s incredibly fast paced! You immediately love all the characters from the start and as the trilogy continues, the love for the characters grow!

I love the entire concept of this trilogy! I haven’t read a dystopian book like this before and it is definitely one of my all time favorites! (Right next to The Hunger Games). Seriously, this trilogy is spot on fantastic and I cannot say enough good things about it! I’m constantly gushing about this trilogy because seriously words cannot describe my love for this trilogy! I hope Emmy Laybourne writes more books because this trilogy was AMAZING!!! She has an amazing writing style!

I would HIGHLY recommend this to everyone! This trilogy needs to be loved more because it doesn’t have enough! I need more people to fangirl this with!!!

favorite quotes

“Come on, Chloe,” Astrid said. “Give me a break.”

“Yeah,” Max added. “You don’t want to give the baby a shock or he’ll come out nalbino.”

Max was using Jake’s pocketknife to whittle a stick into a spear.

“A nalbino?” Chloe asked.

“Yeah, a baby with no hair and pink eyes.” — page 83-84

.

“Love isn’t how the person makes you feel or what they do for you. It’s how you feel about them,” he said. He stood there, all backlit with the dappled sunset.

I was kind of thunderstruck.

“Love is how you feel about the other person. Everything else is just details,” he said. — page 174

.

Challenges This Belongs To:

summer of 50 challengeSeriouslySeries2014-02Series-Challenge-Button-take2

Leave a Reply

