Review: The Awakening by Kelley Armstrong

the awakening

The Awakening by Kelley Armstrong
Series: Darkest Powers #2
First Published by: HarperCollins on April 28th 2009
Genre: Paranormal, Urban Fantasy, Supernatural, Young Adult
Pages: 360 (Paperback)
Source: Purchased in paperback

amazongoodreads

My Rating: 5 stars2

Chloe Saunders is on the run

and raising hell. Literally.

Chloe Saunders is not your average supernatural teenager. Genetically altered at birth by a sinister team of scientists, she can barely control her terrifying powers. Now the team that created her has decided it’s time to end the experiment. Permanently.

Now Chloe is running for her life along with a charming sorcerer, a troubled werewolf and a temperamental young witch. Together they have a chance for freedom – but can Chloe trust her new friends?’

my thoughts 2

I am in love with this trilogy, perfect sequel to an amazing book!

MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS FROM THE SUMMONING.

Chloe has recently found out she’s a necromancer. But people are out to get her and her friends. She thought she could trust the one important person in her life, but maybe she was wrong. She’s a genetically altered science experiment along with her friends. An experiment gone wrong. The scientists are after all of them to erase what they created.

Seriously, I am addicted to this trilogy! I love how creepy and gruesome it gets when she describes the bodies Chloe is raising. I literally get freaked out by it. It’s so in detail but I love it!

I love the characters! Chloe is such an amazing character! I love her stutter, it’s adorable. She’s so cute but bad@$$ at the same time. Chloe has matured immensely since the first book and has somewhat gotten used to what she’s capable of. And I mean the somewhat, not completely. Derek drives me crazy sometimes, but I love him nonetheless. He’s a sweetheart when he wants to be. Every time I read about Simon, I think of the Simon from The Mortal Instruments… I don’t know why…

There’s not much romance, which was nice. It was more action packed and fast paced. I flew through this book within a day! It is impossible to put down!

If you have yet to start this trilogy, I highly recommend it! This is a fantastic paranormal trilogy that is fast paced the whole way!

favorite quotes

“Simon whispered to me, “But is everything okay?”
“No,” Tori said. “I kidnapped her and forced her to escape with me. I’ve been using her as a human shield against those guys with guns, and I was just about to strangle her and leave her body here to throw them off my trail. But then you showed up and foiled my evil plans. Lucky for you, though. You get to rescue poor little Chloe again and win her undying gratitude.”
“Undying gratitude?” Simon looked at me. “Cool. Does that come with eternal servitude? If so, I like my eggs sunnyside up.”
I smiled. “I’ll remember that.”– page 139-40

.

“Derek caught my arm again as I started to move–at this rate, it was going to be as sore as my injured one.
“Dog,” he said, jerking his chin toward the fenced yard. “It was inside earlier.”
Expecting to see a Doberman slavering at the fence, I followed his gaze to a little puff of white fur, the kind of dog women stick in their purses. It wasn’t even barking, just staring at us, dancing in place.
“Oh, my God! It’s a killer Pomeranian.” I glanced up at Derek. “It’s a tough call, but I think you can take him.”
― Kelley Armstrong, The Awakening

.

Challenges This Belongs To:

summer of 50 challenge

Leave a Reply

