Review: The Reckoning by Kelley Armstrong

the reckoning

The Reckoning by Kelley Armstrong
Series: Darkest Powers #3
First Published by: HarperCollins on April 6th 2010
Genre: Paranormal, Urban Fantasy, Supernatural, Young Adult
Pages: 391 (Paperback)
Source: Purchased in paperback

amazongoodreads

My Rating: 5 stars2

My name is Chloe Saunders. I’m fifteen, and I would love to be normal. But normal is one thing I’m not. For one thing, I’m having these feelings for a certain antisocial werewolf and his sweet-tempered brother—who just happens to be a sorcerer—but, between you and me, I’m leaning toward the werewolf. Not normal. My friends and I are also on the run from an evil corporation that wants to get rid of us—permanently. Definitely not normal. And finally, I’m a genetically altered necro-mancer who can raise the dead, rotting corpses and all, without even trying. As far away from normal as it gets.

my thoughts 2

The Reckoning was definitely my favorite of the 3. The characters were fully developed and I absolutely loved the characters! So much action as well as some romance!!! PERFECT CONCLUSION! I’m not going to give a synopsis mostly because everyone has read this trilogy, but also because this is the final book and I don’t want to spoil everything from the first 2!

I cannot get over how much I loved this trilogy! I’ll admit, the first wasn’t my favorite. Gave it a 4/5 stars, but it had potential to be an AMAZING trilogy and it did! I owned the first 2 books for about 5 years. I believed up until earlier in 2013, that this trilogy was about witches…. I was WAYYY off! I don’t know why I thought that.. The back cover even says necromancy. I don’t know. But I’m glad this was necromancy/supernatural and not witches! There’s A LOT of witch books out there and not very many (that I know of) that deal with necromancy! Let’s not forget to mention Kelley Armstrong’s writing style!!! HOLY COW! SHE CAN WRITE CREEPY SCENES!

This trilogy is very hard to put down. It is VERY fast paced and somewhat predictable at times. But that’s what makes this trilogy amazing! The characters are absolutely amazing, I adore them all and I’m sad to say goodbye to them! I just started to really love Derek, yes, Team Derek! But I’m excited to start The Darkest Rising trilogy, which is a companion trilogy to this. It features new characters with the appearance of characters from this trilogy, so I don’t have to completely say goodbye just yet!

If you have not picked up this trilogy yet… What are you doing?! Stop what your reading and start this! It’s fast paced and absolutely amazing!!!!

favorite quotes

“Derek looked around, like he was searching for something to use. Then he stripped off his shirt. I tried not to look away. Not that he looked bad without his shirt. The opposite, actually, which is why…Let’s just say friends are really better when they’re fully dressed.” — page 14

.

“So,” Simon said. “Looks like you and Derek are getting along again. What happened? Did he give you the look?”
“Look?”
“You know. The one that makes him look like a whipped puppy, and makes you feel like a jerk for doing the whipping.”
“Ah, that one. So it works on you, too?”
He snorted. “It even works on Dad. We give in, we tell him it’s okay, and the next thing you know, he’s chewing up slippers again.”
I laughed.”– page 293

.

“So,” I said. “Seems you’re going to be stuck with me for a while.”
He smiled. A real smile that lit up his whole face.
“Good,”– page 390

.

Challenges This Belongs To:
summer of 50 challengeSeriouslySeries2014-02 Series-Challenge-Button-take2

Leave a Reply

