Review: Allegiant by Veronica Roth

allegiantAllegiant by Veronica Roth
Series: Divergent #3
Published by Harper Collins on October 22nd 2013
Genres: Dystopian, Fantasy, Young Adult
Pages: 544
Source: Purchased
Goodreads
four-stars

Now includes an excerpt from the upcoming Four: A Divergent Collection.What if your whole world was a lie? What if a single revelation—like a single choice—changed everything? What if love and loyalty made you do things you never expected?The explosive conclusion to Veronica Roth’s #1 New York Times bestselling Divergent trilogy reveals the secrets of the dystopian world that has captivated millions of readers in Divergent and Insurgent.

my thoughts 2

I was a little nervous- okay, very nervous- going into this. I was already spoiled (I’m sure you’ve heard me talk about this a billion times) before I even got to Insurgent. I think it overall ruined my thoughts of the trilogy as a whole. My least favorite was definitely Insurgent. Had the point of views not changed like it did, I probably would have had a lower rating or not even finished it. Tris did make up for her attitude in Insurgent, which drove me crazy. In Insurgent, she was extremely annoying and was constantly picking fights with Tobias. I definitely enjoyed having Tobias’ point of view on this and not just Tris.

I will honestly say I liked the trilogy as a whole. However, Divergent for me was amazing! Insurgent wasn’t that great, but Allegiant was better. This is definitely not a favorite dystopian series/trilogy, but I did enjoy it. I might have enjoyed it more had I not been spoiled before I could even get to the second book. I think I was just so upset and frustrated over that, I was kind of just done with the trilogy. I’m glad to say I’ve finally finished this trilogy and I can knock that off of my massive unfinished series/trilogies list!

Even though this wasn’t amazing for me, I would still highly recommend it! It is a great dystopian read, and I loved all the action and plot twists that happened! I am happy with the ending, but I do feel that maybe the ending could have ended differently. It didn’t HAVE to end that way… But I’m still happy with it. I didn’t cry, but I did have little tears.

favorite quotes

“I fell in love with him. But I don’t just stay with him by default as if there’s no one else available to me. I stay with him because I choose to, every day that I wake up, every day that we fight or lie to each other or disappoint each other. I choose him over and over again, and he chooses me.”– page 372

.

“I belong to the people I love, and they belong to me–they, and the love and loyaty I give them, form my identity far more than any word or group ever could.”– page 455

.

“I suppose a fire that burns that bright is not meant to last.”– page 492

.

“There are so many ways to be brave in this world. Sometimes bravery involves laying down your life for something bigger than yourself, or for someone else. Sometimes it involves giving up everything you have ever known, or everyone you have ever loved, for the sake of something greater.

But sometimes it doesn’t.

Sometimes it is nothing more than gritting your teeth through pain, and the work of every day, the slow walk toward a better life.

That is the sort of bravery I must have now.”– page 509

.

Challenges This Belongs To:

summer of 50 challengeDCR Banner SeriouslySeries2014-02Series-Challenge-Button-take2

Leave a Reply

