Review: Slammed by Colleen Hoover

slammedSlammed by Colleen Hoover
Series: Slammed #1
Published by Simon and Schuster on August 10th 2012
Genres: Contemporary, New Adult, Romance
Pages: 317
Source: Purchased
Goodreads
five-stars

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Hopeless and Losing Hope.Falling in love can feel like poetry. Or it can feel like a slam to the heart.Colleen Hoover’s romantic, emotion-packed debut novel unforgettably captures all the magic and confusion of first love, as two young people forge an unlikely bond before discovering that fate has other plans for them.Following the unexpected death of her father, eighteen-year-old Layken becomes the rock for both her mother and younger brother. She appears resilient and tenacious, but inside, she’s losing hope. Then she meets her new neighbor Will, a handsome twenty-one-year-old whose mere presence leaves her flustered and whose passion for poetry slams thrills her.Not long after a heart-stopping first date during which each recognizes something profound and familiar in the other, they are slammed to the core when a shocking discovery brings their new relationship to a sudden halt. Daily interactions become impossibly painful as they struggle to find a balance between the feelings that pull them together and the forces that tear them apart. Only through the poetry they share are they able to speak the truth that is in their hearts and imagine a future where love is cause for celebration, not regret.

my thoughts 2

HOLY COW! I LOVED THIS BOOK TO PIECES! Words cannot describe my love for this book right now!

Our main character Layken moved to Michigan from Texas to escape debt and a family tragedy. Immediately she meets Will right when pulling up to her new house. They talk and go out on a date. But little does she know when she goes to class the next day, it just so happens that Will is  her teacher. Will is a poetry teacher and he especially loves slam poetry. Because Will is a teacher and Layken is a student of his, they aren’t allowed to date. But when they are neighbors and their brothers are best friends, it’s hard not to bump into each other everyday.

This book is everything you could want. I absolutely adored this book to pieces! Colleen Hoover made it almost effortless to fall for the characters. I’m really mad at myself for not reading this sooner! I’ve had countless people telling me to read her books. Now I want all of hers. Sadly I don’t own any of her others and I already spent enough on books for a while. So I guess I won’t be picking another one up for a while. But it’s okay! Anyway, this book was perfect!

I loved Eddie, she was the perfect best friend anyone could ask for! I would definitely have her as a best friend! She was just so upfront and outspoken and quirky! I adored her personality, a lot of the time I was cracking up laughing at what she would say. She’s an amazing character and I would LOVE to have her as my best friend!!!

Every time I saw Will, I thought of Will from The Last Song who is played by Liam Hemsworth. I don’t know why I picked Will like that, but it was a pretty picture nonetheless. If you don’t know who I’m talking about, Google him. You’ll agree that’s he’s a pretty hot human being. ;) I really did love Will though! He was such a stinking sweetheart and so stinking amazing! Yes, he got on my nerves at times because he kept trying to push away his relationship with Layken. But I still love him. He’s an amazing character! I adored his relationship with Layken, it was so cute and so sweet and just ADORABLE!!! I can’t control my feelings when it comes to them! I end up fangirling and words can’t describe it!

AMAZING book, highly recommend to everyone! This would be a fantastic book for those wanting to try out the new adult genre! :)

all time favorite

favorite quotes

“Don’t take life too seriously. Punch it in the face when it needs a good hit. Laugh at it…. Question everything. Your love, your religion, your passion. If you don’t have questions, you’ll never find answers.” — page 316

.

“I got schooled this year
by
a
boy
.

A boy that I’m seriously, deeply, madly, incredibly, and undeniably in love with.
And he taught me the most important thing of all

To put the emphasis
On life .” ― Colleen Hoover, Slammed

.

“There are three questions every woman should be able to answer yes to before they commit to a man. If you answer no to any of the three questions, run like hell.”
[…]
“Does he treat you with respect at all times? That’s the first question. The second question is, if he is the exact same person twenty years from now that he is today, would you still want to marry him? And finally, does he inspire to be a better person? You find someone you can answer yes to all three, then you’ve found a good man.” ― Colleen Hoover, Slammed

.

Challenges This Belongs To:

summer of 50 challenge

2 thoughts on “Review: Slammed by Colleen Hoover

  1. Pingback: Waiting on Wednesday (#38): Never Never by Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher - Brianna's Bookish ConfessionsBrianna's Bookish Confessions

  2. You need to read Colleen’s books! Personally, I didn’t like Never Never. It was slow and nothing was happening and the ending was a bit predictable but I LOVE/ADORE her other books. I love Hopeless…its an emotional story. Finding Cinderella is just so freaking funny!!! I haven’t read Slammed though but I need to so bad, I know!

Leave a Reply

