Review: Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo

siege and stormSiege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo
Series: The Grisha #2
Published by Henry Holt and Co. on June 4th 2013
Genres: Fantasy, Fantasy & Magic, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 432
Source: Purchased
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

Darkness never dies. Hunted across the True Sea, haunted by the lives she took on the Fold, Alina must try to make a life with Mal in an unfamiliar land, all while keeping her identity as the Sun Summoner a secret. But she can’t outrun her past or her destiny for long. The Darkling has emerged from the Shadow Fold with a terrifying new power and a dangerous plan that will test the very boundaries of the natural world. With the help of a notorious privateer, Alina returns to the country she abandoned, determined to fight the forces gathering against Ravka. But as her power grows, Alina slips deeper into the Darkling’s game of forbidden magic, and farther away from Mal. Somehow, she will have to choose between her country, her power, and the love she always thought would guide her–or risk losing everything to the oncoming storm. Siege and Storm is the second book in The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo.

what i thoughtGuys, I REALLY wanted to love this! I absolutely LOVED Shadow and Bone! I have been so excited to continue on, but now I’m really nervous about reading the 3rd because I don’t want it to end on a bad note for me. With that sad, I don’t hate Siege and Storm. I still really enjoyed it, I just had some minor issues that were based on me.

Since I read Shadow and Bone back in January, I’ve read almost 100 books in between and that’s like a 7-8 month gap. Probably not the BEST decision on my part.. I didn’t remember anything that happened in the end, so coming back into this world was very difficult for me. Did you think I went back to figure out how the first ended? Haha no, are you insane!? Why would I do that!? Just kidding… I honestly didn’t think to do that really.. But with that, I’m in a HUGE contemporary kick right now (thank you Walking Disaster…) so having this kind of romance was VERY frustrating to me. I felt that it was turning into a love-square type deal. Now, I already don’t like love triangles all that much. Sometimes they can be done without. My feelings are very similar towards the Shatter Me trilogy. I feel that Mal (our main male character and Alina’s best friend/”boyfriend”) was very whiny and annoying. I couldn’t stand him one bit during this book. I absolutely adored the 2 in the first book, but now I absolutely cannot stand the dude. Now, the Darkling. :) I’m liking him despite that he’s the bad guy. I don’t care. He’s a lot more attractive and A LOT less annoying than Mal. The other love interest who I will not tell to avoid spoilers is better than Mal. I will be extremely happy if Alina ends with that guy or the Darkling. I will probably be very disappointed if she ends with Mal. I can’t stand him right now.

Now with that rant over, that was my biggest problem. Mal. I felt that Alina is having a hard time with boys right now. Understandable, she’s a teenager. (feels weird to say this because I’m only 20) but I was a teenager too. But wasn’t drooling over guys I knew in person, more so fictional characters and actors. ;)

I also had a hard time reading it period. I’ve been super busy with school so when I did get the chance to read, I’d read about a chapter then get distracted. It was hard to continue on when I kept getting distracted. It had a hard time keeping my attention for long periods of time. So this also affected my rating. But overall, the plot and world were still fantastic! I love (mostly, not so much romance) how it going! I am excited to see how it all ends, but nervous at the same time. I feel like she’s going to end with the one character I’m absolutely having the most problems with. Bad guys never win right? Not cool… Can’t wait. :)

quotes

“I have loved you all my life, Mal,” I whispered through my tears. “There is no end to our story.”– page 417

.

“The less you say, the more weight your words will carry.” ― Leigh Bardugo, Siege and Storm

.

signature

Challenges This Belongs To:

2014rewind 2014 Outdo Yourself Reading Challenge

2 thoughts on “Review: Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo

  1. You know, I have been afraid to continue this story because I LIKE the Darkling, and I didn’t want him to be the bad guy in this series! Haha. I actually didn’t like Mal in the first one, I thought he was going to be one of those “I was naive and didn’t know what I wanted” but it looks like he’s here to stay. I have this problem with Splintered as well. I’ll read this one and join you in your support of the Darkling!

    Amber Elise @Du Livre

    • I’m so glad we both agree! I feel like a lot of people are the same way! I’m starting Ruin and Rising at some point this week so wish me luck! lol

Leave a Reply

