Top Ten Tuesday: Books That Were Hard For Me To Read

top ten tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is ‘top ten characters who would be sitting at my lunch table’. This is is no particular order.

the-host broken beauty the queens choice

1. The Host by Stephenie Meyer: This is what started back up my love for reading last year in 2013. So it was difficult for me because it had been so long since I had last read. But, thankfully I absolutely ADORED this book and I can thank Stephenie Meyer (twice) for making me love reading so much! She is 100% responsible for starting my love for reading and bringing it back!

2. Broken Beauty by Lizzy Ford: The subject matter was very difficult for me. It’s one of those very touchy subjects- rape. But Lizzy Ford did an amazing job at making this a beautiful story (still need to continue)!

3. The Queen’s Choice by Cayla Cruver: Overall I had a very difficult time with this one… Yes, I overall enjoyed the book, but I just wasn’t jumping up and down dying to know what happened next. It was just a “bleh” read for me.

mind games the here and now bloodlines

4. Mind Games by Kiersten White: This was another I had trouble with. But I definitely had more trouble with this one… I didn’t care for the characters or what was going on. It was all too confusing to me and I didn’t like it too much.

5. The Here and Now by Ann Brashares: My memory of this book is very hazy… That’s how much I didn’t care for it. I know that’s a little harsh but it’s true. There was nothing special about this book, I couldn’t connect with the characters and I was confused the entire time!

6. Bloodlines by Richelle Mead: This is a different story… It’s been over 4 years since I last read the Vampire Academy series, so details have completely escaped me. Going back into this world after being gone from it for so long was very difficult for me for a while. Vampire Academy is one of my all time favorite series ever. The typical trend with both series is the books get better as they go on. So I know once I continue, it will only get better. ;)

the last policeman insurgent delirium

7. The Last Policeman by Ben H. Winters: My only big issue was the age difference. I’m not used to reading adult books, so reading from a guy’s point of view who’s in his 30’s was very difficult for me. I didn’t connect with him because I’m not close to his age so I don’t experience everything he’s going through (to an extent). But I overall really liked the story!

8. Insurgent by Veronica Roth: I was spoiled after reading Divergent, you’ve all heard me talk about this. I absolutely could not stand Tris in Insurgent. She was very annoying to me and I felt that she was ALWAYS arguing with Tobias… No matter what it was. They were fighting. Never happy. Ever. It annoyed me to no ends. Maybe that’s partly due to I knew the ending of Allegiant… But who knows!

9. Delirium by Lauren Oliver: I had the HARDEST time with the first half of this book. I was almost tempted to stop reading the book, I was so bored out of my mind! The ending definitely made up for the first half, but I’m not dying to pick up the second book (and it’s been a while now).

what i thought was true

10. What I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick: I REALLY tried to like this book, I did. But it just didn’t work for me. I didn’t care for the characters and had a very difficult time connecting to them. This was my first book by her so I was a little nervous, but I’ve already read My Life Next Door and absolutely loved it!

signature

Leave a Reply

