Review: Real by Katy Evans

realReal by Katy Evans
Series: Real #1
Published by Gallery Books on April 8th 2013
Genres: Contemporary, Contemporary Romance, New Adult, Romance
Pages: 320
Source: Purchased
Goodreads
four-stars

A fallen boxer.
A woman with a broken dream.
A competition…

He even makes me forget my name. One night was all it took, and I forgot everything and anything except the sexy fighter in the ring who sets my mind ablaze and my body on fire with wanting…

Remington Tate is the strongest, most confusing man I’ve ever met in my life.

He’s the star of the dangerous underground fighting circuit, and I’m drawn to him as I’ve never been drawn to anything in my life. I forget who I am, what I want, with just one look from him. When he’s near, I need to remind myself that I am strong–but he is stronger. And now it’s my job to keep his body working like a perfect machine, his taut muscles primed and ready to break the bones of his next opponents . . .

But the one he’s most threatening to, now, is me.

I want him. I want him without fear. Without reservations.

If only I knew for sure what it is that he wants from me?

what i thoughtTHIS BOOK WAS AMAZING! I’m dying to get my hands on the second book, I need it now!

Brooke goes to an underground fight with her best friend, Melanie. These aren’t usually her “cup of tea”, all her life she was training for the Olympics until she hurt her knee. Now wanting to be in sports medicine and help out other athletes. While at the fight, she notices Remington who everyone knows. Remington is known for all the girls falling for him and what he does, but he’s only got eyes on her tonight.

Okay, so let’s get to the part as to why this is a 4 star and not 5… Okay, I had a big time issue with the beginning. Brooke meeting Remy like that just didn’t seem real. (haha no pun intended)… Too much like an insta-like/insta-love type situation that REALLY threw me off in the beginning. But OHH MAN after that whole thing, WHEW, did I LOVEEEE Brooke and Remy!

“I don’t want to be yours. I want to be your fucking REAL.” — Katy Evans, Real

It’s been about a week and a half or so since I finished this amazing book, and the feels are still there! I’m obsessing over this story and I NEED the second book like.. yesterday.

There is SO much sexual tension, but ohh do those tensions RAPIDLY release! I didn’t expect a lot that was going to happen. Remy’s back story and the way he is, I wasn’t really expecting. I think it made me love him that much more. I love that even though Remy is very kept-t0-himself, he expresses his feelings through music. I really loved that part to their story. A lot of these songs I already love, especially Iris.. I LOVE that song to pieces… There isn’t anything you can’t like about Remy, or Brooke for that matter. I adored their story and at one point in the story I wanted to punch Brooke for being so dumb. I don’t understand why she did what she did.

“The guy is just too much. Too much male. Too much masculinity and pure raw beast. Put together, he’s just like sex on a stick and every female around me is shouting at the top of her lungs how much she wants to lick.” — page 20

What I really liked about Brooke was seeing her mention science. I thought it was hilarious when she started talking biology and anatomy! Being a soon-to-be medical student, I absolutely loved her character!

I loved the side characters as well. Could have done without Scorpion, guy just gives me the absolute creeps, but still loved the characters (besides him).

I can’t wait to pick up book 2 and continue their story! I’m really excited (and nervous) to see what happens next!

quotes

“You tie me up in knots. I want to play you a thousand different songs so you can get a clue of what… I feel inside me…”– page 144

.

“You’ll leave me the second it gets too steep, and you’ll leave me with nothing – when I want you like I’ve never wanted anything in life. You’re all I think about, dream about. I get high and low and it’s not about you now, it’s not even about me anymore. I can’t sleep, can’t think, can’t concentrate worth shit anymore and it’s all because I want to be the fucking ‘one’ for you.”– page 162

.

“I’m so fucking in love with you I don’t even know what to do with myself anymore.”– page 297

.

“Why’d you want to have sex with me? To have a fucking adventure? What was I supposed to be? Your one-night-fucking stand? I’m every woman’s adventure, damn you, and I don’t want to be yours. I want to be your fucking REAL. You get that? If I fuck you, I want you to belong to me. To be mine. I want you to give yourself to me—not Riptide!” ― Katy Evans, Real

.

signature

Challenges This Belongs To:

2014 Outdo Yourself Reading Challenge 2014rewind

Leave a Reply

