Review: Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake

anna dressed in bloodAnna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake
Series: Anna #1
Published by Tor Teen on October 17th 2011
Genres: Ghosts, Horror, Paranormal, Young Adult
Pages: 316
Source: Purchased
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Cas Lowood has inherited an unusual vocation: He kills the dead.

So did his father before him, until he was gruesomely murdered by a ghost he sought to kill. Now, armed with his father’s mysterious and deadly athame, Cas travels the country with his kitchen-witch mother and their spirit-sniffing cat. They follow legends and local lore, destroy the murderous dead, and keep pesky things like the future and friends at bay.

Searching for a ghost the locals call Anna Dressed in Blood, Cas expects the usual: track, hunt, kill. What he finds instead is a girl entangled in curses and rage, a ghost like he’s never faced before. She still wears the dress she wore on the day of her brutal murder in 1958: once white, now stained red and dripping with blood. Since her death, Anna has killed any and every person who has dared to step into the deserted Victorian she used to call home.

Yet she spares Cas’s life.

what i thoughtCas was born to line of ghost hunters. His dad was killed by one, so he’s next. Having done this for a little while, moving around with his mom to different towns, new schools, new life, Cas is up for his biggest challenge yet. Anna. The girl dressed in blood. It has been heard that whoever goes to her house is never seen again. Nobody knows where these people go or what happens. Police can never find out either. So now it’s Cas’ job to end this. Cas doesn’t know if he can do it though.. After being in the house and getting to know Anna and how she acts… Maybe there’s a different story as to why she’s doing this.. I mean, Anna can’t kill Cas anyway.

Anna was murdered back in the 50’s by how she was murdered has never been discovered. No one actually ever found her body, but it was told she died and haunts her house. Whoever walks into Anna’s house is dead.

THIS BOOK WAS AMAZING! PERFECT Halloween read! This book was so creepy and so gruesome, I was very skeptical about reading it at night! Anna is SOOOO stinkin’ creepy! I was totally not expecting how creepy it was going to be going into the book. I loved the storyline and Anna’s back story! Paranormal has always been one of my favorite genres to read because they are always so much fun to read! I love being able to go into a world that is just not even possible! (As in vampires, werewolves, ghosts–if you believe or not–, fairies, ALL!) Even though I HATEEEEEE scary movies, it’s so weird that I can watch shows like American Horror Story and Supernatural and read books like these… But when it comes to scary movies, OHH HECK NO.

“The house is waiting. Everyone standing around me in the driveway is scared to death of what’s inside, but I’m more creeped out by the house itself. I know it’s dumb, but I can’t help but feel like it’s watching, and maybe smiling, grinning at our childish attempts to stop it, laughing off its foundation as we shake chicken feet in its direction.” — page 192

You can’t help but feel bad for Anna especially when you find out her story. She is definitely one of my favorite characters in the book. For a sixteen year old girl, she makes the Hulk look weak! I love (& am also creeped out) how strong she is! Kendare Blake does an AMAZING job at creating very vivid and gruesome scenes that you want to make sure your safe in your home with every single light on. I will tell you, there was one night that I was really scared to read more! I was home alone (& I already don’t like being home alone), so reading this book definitely freaked me out! My biggest problem was the side characters… I felt we didn’t get to see much of the side characters, more so people just kind of on the side lines by Anna and Cas. I wasn’t really into the romance that developed, I was honestly a little on the fence by it.

Nonetheless, I absolutely loved this book! I would highly recommend this as a perfect Halloween read, or anytime for that matter.

signature

quotes

“But hey, at least we’ll have this strange story to tell, love and death and blood and daddy-issues. And holy crap, I’m a psychiatrist’s wet dream.” — page 247

.

“You fuck – you ate my cat!”– page 279

.

Challenges This Belongs To:

2014 Outdo Yourself Reading Challenge

 

 

Leave a Reply

