Review: Girl of Nightmares by Kendare Blake

girl of nightmaresGirl of Nightmares by Kendare Blake
Series: Anna #2
Published by Tor Teen on August 7th 2012
Genres: Ghosts, Horror, Paranormal, Young Adult
Pages: 332
Source: Purchased
Goodreads
three-stars

It’s been months since the ghost of Anna Korlov opened a door to Hell in her basement and disappeared into it, but ghost-hunter Cas Lowood can’t move on.

His friends remind him that Anna sacrificed herself so that Cas could live—not walk around half dead. He knows they’re right, but in Cas’s eyes, no living girl he meets can compare to the dead girl he fell in love with.

Now he’s seeing Anna everywhere: sometimes when he’s asleep and sometimes in waking nightmares. But something is very wrong…these aren’t just daydreams. Anna seems tortured, torn apart in new and ever more gruesome ways every time she appears.

Cas doesn’t know what happened to Anna when she disappeared into Hell, but he knows she doesn’t deserve whatever is happening to her now. Anna saved Cas more than once, and it’s time for him to return the favor.

what i thoughtI really wanted to like the sequel, I did. But it just didn’t do it for me. I REALLY loved Anna’s character in the first book so I was really looking forward to her character again. Sadly, she didn’t appear as much as I’d hoped. I just felt that the overall story of book 2 was just plain boring. I kept waiting for the book to speed up and get more exciting, but it never happened. It wasn’t scary like the first book or as intense, it was just flat. Even when the “scary” scenes appeared, it was nothing like compared to the first book and the author describing Anna.

I think this is my first ghost love story, and honestly? I don’t think I’m a fan of them… I’m a sucker for love stories and I tend to pick the first couple introduced (in the sense it becomes a long triangle or of that sort), so to see how it ended, I was kind of upset. I’m not trying to punch out all these negative comments, I’m not hating on the book. I just had REALLY HIGH expectations after loving the first book. I did like overall the ending of the story, but there was so much that could have been taken out. I honestly wanted to see more of Anna’s character…

There was one big question I had dealing with Carmel. There was something (that I won’t mention because of spoilers) that happened at the end of the first book that was never discussed in book 2 about her. I was a little thrown off by this because it was a pretty big deal. It was as if it never happened and I have so many questions relating to as exactly what happened with Carmel. At this point I’m questioning if it really happened or not…

I think my favorite aspect of this duology was the world. I’m a sucker for paranormal stories and this reminded me a lot of Supernatural. Cas definitely reminds me of the Winchester brothers and just the world they live in. Obviously my favorite character was Anna if you didn’t already guess. ;)

I’m definitely looking forward to more of Kendare Blake’s books, I already own a copy of Antigoddess and I’m beyond excited to dive into that book!!! :)

signature

quotes

“He almost killed my friends. Fuck that guy.” — page 29

.

“She crossed over death to call me. I crossed through Hell to find her.” ― Kendare Blake, Girl of Nightmares

.

Challenges This Belongs To:

2014 Outdo Yourself Reading Challenge Series-Challenge-Button-take2 SeriouslySeries2014-02

Leave a Reply

