Review & Blog Tour: Rite of Rejection by Sarah Negovetich

rite of rejectionRite of Rejection by Sarah Negovetich
Published by Self Published on December 4th 2014
Genres: Dystopian, Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 320
Source: ARC copy from author
Goodreads
four-stars

“Before you stands the future.”

Straight-laced, sixteen-year-old Rebecca can’t wait for her Acceptance. A fancy ball, eligible bachelors, and her debut as an official member of society. Instead, the Machine rejects Rebecca. Labeled as a future criminal, she’s shipped off to a life sentence in a lawless penal colony.

A life behind barbed-wire fences with the world’s most dangerous people terrifies Rebecca. She reluctantly joins a band of misfit teens in a risky escape plan, complete with an accidental fiancé she’s almost certain she can learn to love.

But freedom comes with a price. To escape a doomed future and prove her innocence, Rebecca must embrace the criminal within.

Blog Tour Bannerwhat i thought
I received a copy in exchange for an honest review from the publisher. It does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.
Rebecca along with her classmates are waiting Acceptance day where they are accepted into society. However, if you are not accepted, your sent to the PIT because you could potentially be a criminal. This is the fate Rebecca is given even though she would never hurt a fly. So why is she in the PIT?
“In the PIT, no one is safe and every day is a fight for survival.” — Sarah Negovetich, Rite of Rejection
I really enjoyed this world, it did remind me of some other ones I’ve read and loved. Although, I didn’t feel any attachment to any of the characters. Rebecca at first came off to me as whiny, but as the story progressed, her character really started to develop and I started liking her more. I did like the side characters, Molly probably being my favorite of them. I wasn’t a big fan of the love triangle that developed, and thankfully that didn’t last long. I did like the romance that did blossom by the end of the book though. Though, at the beginning of the book I was rooting for the other guy and by about half way, completely changed my mind!
I’m hoping that in the sequel we will get to see more of the world. I’m curious to see the world outside the PIT as there wasn’t many scenes outside from the PIT. I felt this is where the book for me was lacking the most, was world development and back stories to better understand this world. The characters and romance definitely were developing, but as the story progressed, the world was left behind. I want to know more about the Cardinal and why he is like this and all things that come with it. I felt the back story that was given was a little rushed and I didn’t get to truly understand the world.
I also really liked the machine that would tell you whether your an acceptable citizen or a criminal. I found it very interesting how the machine told you whether you were or not. I also liked the concept of the Acceptance day and what went about that day- finding your potential husband and the dances.
I’m really hoping there is a sequel, mostly because of the cliffhanger at the end, but also because I want more to this world. This definitely could have been an easy 5 star read if I would have gotten more explanation to the world and connected more with the characters. I would still definitely recommend this to friends who are fans of dystopian.
signature
quotes
“I’m going to be a widow traveling with her sister. Of course, I’m heartbroken and you all feel horrible about my loss.” She winks at me and smiles. “I’ll wear black.” — Sarah Negovetich, Rite of Rejection
.
“Aren’t we all a little bit broken inside?” — Sarah Negovetich, Rite of Rejection
.
“Daniel’s hand reaches up and tucks a yellow curl behind my ear. “I think you’re beautiful.” — Sarah Negovetich, Rite of Rejection
.
Challenges This Belongs To:
DCR Banner 2014 Outdo Yourself Reading Challenge

#RiteOfRejection Reader Survival Pack

Prize pack includes:

Chapter 17 tissues (because that’s when you’ll need them), a jumbo sized chocolate bar (a hot commodity inside the PIT), an orange scented candle (courtesy of Rebecca’s fondest memory from home, a dandelion pen (as featured on the cover), hand-crafted Molly bag (these are used extensively by the main characters), and a $10 Amazon gift card.
Sarah Negovetich knows you don’t know how to pronounce her name and she’s okay with
that.
Her first love is Young Adult novels, because at seventeen the world is your
oyster. Only oysters are slimy and more than a little salty; it’s accurate if
not exactly motivational. We should come up with a better cliché.
 
Sarah divides her time between writing YA books that her husband won’t read and
working with amazing authors as an agent at Corvisiero Literary Agency. Her
life’s goal is to be only a mildly embarrassing mom when her kids hit their
teens.
 
You can learn more about Sarah and her books at www.SarahNegovetich.com
or follow her antics on Twitter @SarahNego.
Leave a Reply

