Review: Fire in the Woods by Jennifer M. Eaton

fire in the woodsFire in the Woods by Jennifer M. Eaton
Published by Month9Books on September 23rd 2014
Genres: Romance, Sci Fi> Aliens, Science Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 300
Source: Purchased
Goodreads
three-half-stars

When a plane crashes in the woods near Jess’s home, the boy of her dreams falls out of the sky—literally.

But David’s not here to find a girlfriend. He’s from another planet, and if Jess can’t help him get back to his ship, he’ll be stuck on Earth with nothing to look forward to but the pointy end of a dissection scalpel. But her father runs their house like an army barracks. and with an alien on the loose, Major Dad isn’t too keen on the idea of Jess going anywhere.

Ever.

So how the heck is she supposed to help the sweetest, strangest, and cutest guy she’s ever met? Hiding him in her room probably isn’t the best idea. Especially since her Dad is in charge of the squadron searching for David.

That doesn’t mean she won’t do it.

It just means she can’t get caught. Helping David get home while protecting her heart—that’s gonna be the hard part.

After all, she can’t really fall for a guy whose not exactly from here. As they race through the woods with Major Dad and most of the U.S. military one breath behind them, Jess and David grow closer than either of them anticipated. But all is not what it seems. David has a genocide-sized secret, and one betrayal later, they are both in handcuffs as alien warships are positioning themselves around the globe. Time is ticking down to Armageddon, and Jess must think fast if she’s to save the boy she cares about without sacrificing Earth—and everyone on it.

FIRE IN THE WOODS is Star-Crossed meets Close Encounters of the Third Kind!

what i thoughtI read this along with one of my really good book friends so it made reading this book even more fun! She was actually the one who really introduced this to me. Basically by saying it’s about aliens and is a little similar to the Lux series by Jennifer L. Armentrout. Now if you know me and have seen my reviews, you’ll know I’m a HUGEEE JLA fan and the Lux series is one of my all time favorite series. So to find another book that has a hot alien, I’m down for reading!

Now, don’t get me wrong, I REALLY still enjoyed this book! But, on Goodreads it still shows it is a standalone but on the book there’s a possibility of a sequel… If there is a sequel (which I’m hoping), I would bump it up to a 4 star rating. I felt that the ending was really rushed and we don’t get any answers in the end. I’m really hoping there is a sequel to answer all these questions I have. I immediately started sending like 50 messages to my friend (she finished it before I did) trying to understand the ending.

I really liked this world! Our main character, Jess lives on a military base with her dad. Her mother recently passed, so their interactions with each other aren’t what they used to be. It’s been hard for them lately. Jess likes photography and one day something crashes on the military base and it’s not something small. Being ordered to stay inside by her father, she disobeys to go take pictures of the crash. While in the woods, she begins to hear a high pitched noise and it completely deafens her for a short period of time. She is then immediately introduced to David who has been alone in the woods. David though doesn’t seem normal… Something is really wrong with him. He’s always cold, and not just normal cold. His body basically shuts down because of this. Jess tries to do all she can, but the only thing that will really help David is to take him to her house where he can warm up. David is a threat and Jess doesn’t realize this until it’s too late. Now she’s on the run with David trying to prove he’s not the bad guy.

I really did like the concept and plot to the story! This isn’t a spoiler, I promise. David is the alien and the way Jennifer M. Eaton describes him as an alien is soo interesting! It’s definitely VERY different from the Lux aliens and I’m really glad it was.

I also really enjoyed Jess’ character at times. Sometimes I wanted to slap her for some of the choices she made. But overall, she was a great character and really funny at times!

I really hope there is a sequel because I have so many unanswered questions!

signature

quotes

“Nope. No smile today. Must be Monday– or any other day of the week ending in y.” — page 2

.

David’s eyes widened. “Why would you want to do that?” He looked away. “I’m not even sure what that is.”

I smacked Maggie on the arm.

“What?” she giggled. “He’s hot.” Her forehead crinkled. “Hey! You just read my mind. That was sooo cool. Do it again.”

David backed away. “I’m a little afraid to.” — page 112

.

Challenges This Belongs To:

2014 Outdo Yourself Reading Challenge

3 thoughts on “Review: Fire in the Woods by Jennifer M. Eaton

  1. This has been on my TBR list for a long time now and from your review it sounds so freaking amazing. I really like alien stories, if they are done right that is. Those quotes sound super fun and just simply like an enjoyable read. I’m off to buying the book now. :)
    Wonderful review!

Leave a Reply

