Review: Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

Dash and Lilys Book of DaresDash & Lily’s Book of Dares by David Levithan, Rachel Cohn
Published by Knopf Books for Young Readers on October 26th 2010
Genres: Christmas, Contemporary, Contemporary Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 260
Source: Purchased
Goodreads
four-stars

“I’ve left some clues for you.
If you want them, turn the page.
If you don’t, put the book back on the shelf, please.”

So begins the latest whirlwind romance from the bestselling authors of Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist. Lily has left a red notebook full of challenges on a favorite bookstore shelf, waiting for just the right guy to come along and accept its dares. But is Dash that right guy? Or are Dash and Lily only destined to trade dares, dreams, and desires in the notebook they pass back and forth at locations across New York? Could their in-person selves possibly connect as well as their notebook versions? Or will they be a comic mismatch of disastrous proportions?

Rachel Cohn and David Levithan have written a love story that will have readers perusing bookstore shelves, looking and longing for a love (and a red notebook) of their own.

what i thought*First off, let me say that I’m VERY behind in reviews, I read this in 2014 (I still have 2 more to write after this one).

I adored this book! I loved both Rachel Cohn & David Levithan’s writing styles put together. The characters were so funny, yet so intelligent that at times I felt kind of dumb. Here’s 2 teenagers and here’s my almost 21 year old self trying to comprehend what they are saying!

Lily has to spend Christmas by herself. Her brother is too caught up in his new relationship to pay any attention to her. Her parents went to Fuji for an anniversary, and her grandpa went to Florida to spend time with his girlfriend. She also wants a boyfriend. She and her brother come up with a series of clues stuck inside a notebook in the Strand bookstore. Whoever is to pick up the book, has to be her soul mate right? But are these expectations enough for Dash?

I really did have a lot of fun reading this! It was a perfect read for Christmas. It spans a couple days before and up until New Years which was about the time frame it took me to read this (I was really busy).

I think my biggest problem was that I wanted more to their story. Just when everything was going really well, the book ends. I wanted more of their relationship and see what happens! I immediately was drawn to both Lily and Dash, they have such spunky, hilarious personalities that I really had fun reading this. Not to mention that both characters love reading and spend a lot of their time in the Strand bookstore (which I’m DYING to go to!).

This was my first time reading from both of these authors and I’m definitely looking forward to more of these authors’ works!

signature

quotes

 

“I want to believe there is a somebody out there just for me. I want to believe that I exist to be there for that somebody.”– page 74

.

“The important people in our lives leave imprints. They may stay or go in the physical realm, but they are always there in your heart, because they helped form your heart. There’s no getting over that.”– page 233

.

“You think fairy tales are only for girls? Here’s a hint – ask yourself who wrote them. I assure you, it wasn’t just the women. It’s the great male fantasy – all it takes is one dance to know that she’s the one. All it takes is the sound of her song from the tower, or a look at her sleeping face. And right away you know – this is the girl in your head, sleeping or dancing or singing in front of you. Yes, girls want their princes, but boys want their princesses just as much. And they don’t want a very long courtships. They want to know immediately.” ― David Levithan, Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares

Challenges This Belongs To:

2014 Outdo Yourself Reading Challenge

 

2 thoughts on “Review: Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

Leave a Reply

