Review: The Elite by Kiera Cass

the eliteThe Elite by Kiera Cass
Series: The Selection #2
Published by HarperTeen on April 23rd 2013
Genres: Dystopian, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 336
Source: Purchased
Goodreads
four-half-stars

The Selection began with thirty-five girls.
Now with the group narrowed down to the six Elite, the competition to win Prince Maxon’s heart is fiercer than ever—and America is still struggling to decide where her heart truly lies. Is it with Maxon, who could make her life a fairy tale? Or with her first love, Aspen?

America is desperate for more time. But the rest of the Elite know exactly what they want—and America’s chance to choose is about to slip away.

what i thoughtOH. MY. GOSH. How I’ve missed this world! I read The Selection late 2013 and just never picked this up. I even attended a signing for Kiera Cass and 3 other authors the day The One released. Still didn’t read it. I’m absolutely kicking myself for waiting SOO long! Words cannot describe how obsessed I got while reading this. I’m not a big fan of America, most of the time I just want to slap her for some of the decisions she made. Once I started this, I seriously could not put the book down! I was going crazy. All I wanted to do was just read this. I was getting very paranoid and very angry when I couldn’t find a copy of The One at Half Price Books that day (luckily Target loves me and knew I needed it ;) ).

Prince Maxon is now left with 5 girls to choose as a wife. All of them exceed great qualities as a wife for him. But he really only has eyes for America. But with America still deciding who she wants, Maxon or Aspen, Maxon starts to look elsewhere. Now with the possibility of the other girls instead of just America, she has to fight for who she really wants, stay and become princess or go home. Who will she choose?

Kiera Cass is one of those authors that immediately draws you in the second you pick up the book. Everything is so vividly described that you feel as if your right there in America’s shoes watching this all play out. She’s a very gifted writer! You feel attached to everything in this story, the characters (sometimes America), the world, the writing, everything! I’m so glad I picked this book up and continued because I forgot how much I really enjoyed The Selection and how much I was missing this world. Words cannot describe how obsessed I am with this series at the moment!

As I’m writing this review, I’ve already read and finished The One, but am very excited to see more of story continue!

signature

quotes

 

“You know that you’ve found something amazing, and you want to hold on to it forever; and every second after you have it, you fear the moment you might lose it.”– page 62

.

“Darling, you’re perfect.”– page 80

.

“Sometimes I feel like we’re a knot, too tangled to be taken apart.”– page 213

Challenges This Belongs To:

2014 Outdo Yourself Reading Challenge DCR Banner

Leave a Reply

