Review: The One by Kiera Cass

the oneThe One by Kiera Cass
Series: The Selection #3
Published by HarperTeen on May 6th 2014
Genres: Dystopian, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 323
Source: Purchased
Goodreads
five-stars

The time has come for one winner to be crowned.

When she was chosen to compete in the Selection, America never dreamed she would find herself anywhere close to the crown—or to Prince Maxon’s heart. But as the end of the competition approaches, and the threats outside the palace walls grow more vicious, America realizes just how much she stands to lose—and how hard she’ll have to fight for the future she wants.

what i thoughtWhy did I wait until now to read this? That is beyond me. I read 50 pages the night before and read the rest the following day. I. COULD. NOT. PUT. THIS. DOWN!

Kiera Cass (as I’ve already said previously in my review for The Elite) is a very talented writer! I have fallen completely in love with this series from start to finish. Yes, I’ve had some major problems with our main character, America, but words cannot describe my love for this series. I haven’t had a book that I was really invested in that I pretty much read in one sitting in a while. For that, I congratulate Kiera Cass on.

The one thing that drove me the most crazy was America’s indecisiveness. This drove me crazy to no ends. One minute she’s dead set on becoming princess and Maxon’s wife, the next she swears she’s going home. THIS DROVE ME BONKERS! This is my only complaint about the whole series, other than that, complete perfection.

I adore Maxon. He’s a complete sweetheart and has definitely won me over in terms of book boyfriends. No, he’s not my favorite (I’ve already got the top 3 permanently taken), but he’s definitely up there on top book boyfriends. He treats all 5 girls with so much respect as well as the country. He thinks about them before himself and really tries his best to make everyone comfortable.

I also really loved America’s maids! They are incredibly sweet!! I think my favorite of the 3 is Lucy because of her shy attitude. She’s incredibly sweet and I loved her ending.

I’m excited to see this continue in The Heir, because I’m most definitely not ready to let this go!

signature

quotes

 

“Your eyes look like chocolate,” I mumbled.
He smiled. “And yours look like the morning sky.”– page 129

.

“Celeste walked up, as strong as I’d ever seen her, and whispered something into Maxon’s ear.

When she was done, he smiled. “I don’t think that will be necessary.”

“Good.” She left, closing the door behind her, and I stood to take whatever was coming.

“What was that about?” I asked, nodding toward the door.

“Oh, Celeste was making it clear that if I hurt you, she’d make me cry,” he said with a smile.

I laughed. “I’ve been on the receiving end of those nails, so be careful there.”

“Yes, ma’am.”– page 193

.

“And there we were, in the background of it all, holding on to one another. The Perfectionist, the Sweetheart, the Diva . . . and me.” — page 213

.

[spoiler]“America, my love, you are sunlight falling through trees. You are laughter that breaks through sadness. You are the breeze on a too-war day. You are clarity in the midst of confusion. You are not the world, but you are everything that makes the world good. Without you, my life would still exist, but that’s all it would manage to do. You said that to get things right one of us would have to take a leap of faith. I think I’ve discovered the canyon that must be leaped, and I hope to find you waiting for me on the other side. I love you, America. Yours forever, Maxon”– page 288[/spoiler]

.

“Break my heart. Break it a thousand times if you like. It was only ever yours to break anyway.” ― Kiera Cass, The One

.

“The best people all have some kind of scar.” ― Kiera Cass, The One

.

Challenges This Belongs To:

2014 Outdo Yourself Reading Challenge DCR Banner

2 thoughts on “Review: The One by Kiera Cass

Leave a Reply

