Review: My Soul Immortal by Jen Printy

my soul immortalMy Soul Immortal by Jen Printy
Series: Fated Eternals #1
Published by Red Adept Publishing on February 15th 2014
Genres: Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 310
Source: ARC copy from author
Goodreads
four-stars

An endless love, for an endless price.

Jack’s immortality is exposed when he prevents a liquor store heist, forcing him to flee to protect his secret—a secret not even he understands. But when he meets Leah Winters—a mirror image of his decades-lost love, Lydia—his very soul is laid bare. He begins to question his sanity. Is she real, and if so, what does that mean for Jack and his secret?

Jack’s not the only mystery man in town. A stranger named Artagan hints at knowledge Jack is desperate to possess. But can he trust Artagan, or does the dark newcomer harbor deadly secrets of his own?

As Jack’s bond with Leah grows, so does the danger to her life. Jack must discover just how much he is willing to risk in order to save the woman he already lost once.

what i thoughtI received a copy in exchange for an honest review from the author. It does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Paranormal books are definitely my all time favorite genre, so when the author contacted me about reviewing her book, I couldn’t say no. The synopsis sounded really interesting and I’ve only ever read one other immortal based series being Evermore by Alyson Noel.

This book had so much potential to be a 4.5 or 5 star book for me, but I had some problems with it. My biggest being able to connect with the characters, I felt the characters were just too out of my reach to connect with. I felt I didn’t get enough character development to really understand them; mostly understanding Leah and Lydia’s characters. It’s usually the characters that I look for most in stories, and this one just didn’t hold up for me.

Jack is an immortal and he’s constantly moving from one place to the next to avoid his secret being revealed. Because of this, he doesn’t stay in one town for more than 5 years and doesn’t come back to that town for a while. Jack is now going to a different town where he begins seeing his lost, true love, Lydia. He starts to think he’s going crazy and seeing things, but her name is Leah Winters. Not only is this the only strange situation, he meets Artagan who holds so many secrets that Jack is desperate to understand. But is Artagan someone he can trust with his secret? Jack and Leah start to grow closer, but so does danger.

I was really intrigued in the beginning, but as the story progressed, I started loosing interest. It wasn’t until about 3/4’s into the book did it start picking back up for me. The plot isn’t hard to understand, it’s the progress of it that started to lose my interest. I still have a lot of unanswered questions which I’m hoping will be discussed in the sequel. I also wasn’t much of a fan of how willingly Leah was to go with Jack places.

The story is told through Jack’s point of view which I thought was very refreshing. Most young adult books, well most books in general are told from the female’s point of view or told in dual perspective. So getting only Jack’s character was a breathe of fresh air. I really enjoyed having his point of view as well as getting to see an immortal’s perspective on life, being the 100+ year old Jack is. Jack’s point of view is sarcastic and very fun to read!

I loved learning about Jack’s immortality and the mythology behind it. Mythology is so incredibly interesting to me and to add that as an aspect to the story, made it entertaining to read. The added reincarnation also intrigued me as well. The idea behind the Leah/Lydia reincarnation was really interesting and I can’t wait to see more of it! I do want to see more explanation and back story to Lydia so I can understand her character more. I loved that Jen Printy was able to capture my attention from the beginning, I loved the beginning of the story. She’s definitely a very talented writer and I’m very excited to read more to this series! Artagan was probably my favorite character throughout this book, I couldn’t decide if I should like him or not. He’s definitely a very interesting character and I’m hoping he makes more of an appearance in the sequel!

I’d definitely recommend this to fans of the paranormal genre! Can’t wait for the sequel!

signature

quotes

“Happy endings are made for fairy tales and legends, not reality.” — page 122

.

“Okay, I won’t fall out of any more trees.”

“Wait. Any more trees?” She gapes at me with disbelief. — page 140

.

3 thoughts on “Review: My Soul Immortal by Jen Printy

Leave a Reply

