Review: Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter

alice in zombielandAlice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter
Series: White Rabbit Chronicles #1
Published by Harlequin Teen on September 25th 2012
Genres: Fantasy, Paranormal, Young Adult, Zombies
Pages: 404
Source: Purchased
Goodreads
five-stars

She won’t rest until she’s sent every walking corpse back to its grave. Forever.

Had anyone told Alice Bell that her entire life would change course between one heartbeat and the next, she would have laughed. From blissful to tragic, innocent to ruined? Please. But that’s all it took. One heartbeat. A blink, a breath, a second, and everything she knew and loved was gone.

Her father was right. The monsters are real….

To avenge her family, Ali must learn to fight the undead. To survive, she must learn to trust the baddest of the bad boys, Cole Holland. But Cole has secrets of his own, and if Ali isn’t careful, those secrets might just prove to be more dangerous than the zombies….

what i thoughtall time favoriteThis will be making my top reads of 2015 for sure, if not then maybe one of the next 2. I’m obsessed with this!!

Alice Bell has never been allowed to stay out late or go anywhere while it’s dark outside. Her dad forbids it. He is convinced monsters walk among them at night and because of this he lives in a constant state of paranoia. One night, everything in Alice’s life completely changes. It was her 16th birthday, nothing bad could ever happen.. Right? Now sworn to kill the monsters that her dad has trained her to kill all her life.

OH MY GOSH! Words cannot describe how much I LOVED this book! I immediately fell in love with it as soon as I started reading! I was immediately drawn into the world just like that. Gena Showalter is definitely becoming a favorite author only after reading just one book. I’m amazed at how quickly I fell for this book! The writing is so perfectly done and so hilarious! There wasn’t anything that I didn’t love about this book! Everything was done perfectly!

I’ve never read a zombie book before, but paranormal is one of my absolute favorite genres (probably my most favorite). So I knew going into the book that I was most likely going to like how it turned out. OHHH BOY was I off by a long shot! I didn’t just like it, I loved it beyond words!

I don’t even know where to start honestly…

Cole Holland is most definitely without a doubt, swoon-worthy and has made a spot in my top book boyfriends. I cannot describe how much I loved him! When he was first introduced, I knew I was going to fall for him. It didn’t take pretty much anything for that to happen. All he had to do was make an appearance!

I loved Alice’s new best friend, Kat! She was hysterical!! I loved her character so much, she was the perfect best friend! Alice’s grandparents were the sweetest. I loved that they tried to learn the newest slang despite that it wasn’t what teenagers say. They truly cared about Alice and wanted to make her comfortable to talk to them! They are the sweetest grandparents anyone could ask for. :)

Seriously… I’m getting all excited writing this review! :D

Although Cole and Alice are immediately drawn to each other, it wasn’t instalove (which I’m VERY glad it wasn’t). Instalove’s are a huge turn off for me in books; I usually have trouble with them. Had this gone in that direction, I might not have enjoyed it as much. THANK GOSH IT DIDN’T! I’m glad they didn’t rush into a relationship; they took things slow– which by the way, drove me crazy with the sexual tension between the 2!

I’m so excited to pick up the sequel and dive back into this world. But unfortunately I’m starting a new semester for school, so I don’t know when exactly I can pick it back up. :( I’m really missing Cole!

signature

quotes

“Are you trying to tell me that you’ve never been kissed?”
I pressed my tongue to the roof of my mouth. He looked so dubious, and his tone had borderd on insulting. “Yeah. So?”
“So, I’m shocked, that’s all. You’re…you.”
In-sul-ting.”Me?” I asked stiffly.
“Yeah. Hot,” he said.
Wait. Me? HOT?
He laughed down at me.”No one’s told you that, either, have they?”
I could only shake me head.
“You’ve clearly been hanging around idiots.”– page 155

.

“Yeah, okay. You’re right. I was having dinner with Zombie Carl the other night. You know, steak, rare, and a bottle of vintage type A. He told me all his secrets, but too bad for you I promised him I wouldn’t tell. In exchange I asked him to gather his best undead buddies and stalk me through my friend’s yard. And oh, yeah, it was totally fine if they wanted to use me as an all-night-dinner buffet, because having organs is SO last year.”– page 252

.

“Girl, he wants to dip you in Frosted Flakes and have you for breakfast. That’s his favorite cereal, by the way.” I…had no words for that.”– page 348

.

“Don’t look now, but that’s my ex over there.”
Surely I’m not the only one who takes “don’t look now” as “there’s no better time than now.” I looked.
“Bad, Ali!” Another slap to my arm. “Bad, bad, bad Ali! Have you no self control?”  — page 53

Leave a Reply

