Review: Going Down in Flames by Chris Cannon

going down in flamesGoing Down in Flames by Chris Cannon
Series: Going Down in Flames #1
Published by Entangled Teen Ember on June 30th 2014
Genres: Dragons, Fantasy, Young Adult
Pages: 407
Source: ARC copy from publisher
Goodreads
three-stars

If her love life is going down in flames, she might as well spark a revolution.

Finding out on your sixteenth birthday you’re a shape-shifting dragon is tough to swallow. Being hauled off to an elite boarding school is enough to choke on.Since Bryn is the only crossbreed at the Institute for Excellence, all eyes are on her, but it’s a particular black dragon, Zavien, who catches her attention.Zavien is tired of the Council’s rules. Segregated clans, being told who to love, and close-minded leaders make freedom of choice almost impossible. The new girl with the striped hair is a breath of fresh air, and with Bryn’s help, they may be able to change the rules.

At the Institute, old grudges, new crushes, and death threats are all part of a normal day for Bryn. She’ll need to learn to control her dragon powers if she wants to make it through her first year at school. But even focusing on staying alive is difficult when you’re falling for someone you can’t have.

what i thought I received a copy in exchange for an honest review from the publisher. It does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The synopsis sounded so interesting and I had high hopes for this, but it fell a little flat for me unfortunately.

Bryn finds out on her 16th birthday that she’s a dragon. She can shape-shift into one whenever she wants. Finding out your a dragon isn’t something that’s easy to take, especially when your immediately shipped off to an elite boarding school for dragons. On top of being the new kid, it doesn’t help that she’s a crossbreed, she’s the ONLY one in dragon history to be a crossbreed so not very people are welcoming of her.

I almost put this book down as DNF; I wasn’t enjoying it very much. For the first 3rd of the book, I felt that everything was constant anger at everything. I know Bryn isn’t very welcomed into this new school and she’s not happy with it, but it was getting annoying very quickly that a 3rd of the book was in constant anger. The second half definitely redeemed itself for me thankfully.

Another big issue I had was the constant description of what kind of print was on Bryn’s bras/panties. I’m sorry, but I could care less about what kind of print is on her bra. After the first 3 or so of the book, I highlighted anytime a description of said undergarments were written; at least 10 times (within the 30%-about 80% marks!) There was only one time in the story where it would have made sense, but all the other times, it just completely annoyed me.

I LOVE our main character’s name, Bryn! It’s such a pretty name!

I liked the concept to the story; shape-shifting dragons and this world. Since Bryn is 2 different colors (red and blue), she doesn’t fit in to any group. I liked these color classifications and what each type of dragon’s element they possessed. I think my favorite is green; probably because they like to help people and the majority of the dragons that are green are doctors/nurses. Maybe that’s biased in my opinion because I want to pursue the medical field as a registered nurse. :)

I also really liked Bryn’s friends she meets at her new school, Ivy and Clint who are black dragons. They were absolutely hilarious and great friends to Bryn! I honestly don’t know who to root for as the love interest, there’s 2-3 different love interests that Bryn likes.

I’m really glad this book did get more enjoyable for me. As well as wanting to continue on with this series! I’m hoping the sequel will be better and Bryn will start to decide who she really wants!

signature

quotes

“If she’s a friend, then what am I?”

He skimmed his fingers along her jaw and down her neck. Warmth radiated from his touch. He settled his hand at the base of her skull, leaned close, and whispered, “You are temptation.” — Chris Cannon, Going Down in Flames

Leave a Reply

