Review: The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings

the murder complexThe Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings
Series: The Murder Complex #1
Published by Greenwillow Books on June 10th 2014
Genres: Dystopian, Science Fiction, Young Adult
Pages: 398
Source: Purchased
Goodreads
four-half-stars

An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate. For fans of Moira Young’s Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna.

Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision.

The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is—although he doesn’t know it—one of the MC’s programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family?

Action-packed, blood-soaked, and chilling, this is a dark and compelling debut novel by Lindsay Cummings.

what i thoughtI followed this book and the author at least 6 months before the publication date (probably longer than that). This was one of my most anticipated books of 2014, and of course I just now read it! I absolutely loved every page!!

Meadow has been trained to fight by her dad all her life. No matter the situation, she will kill to survive; she will not be the one to die. Zephyr doesn’t know that he is one of The Murder Complex’s programmed assassins. Every night at the Dark Time murders happen all over making the death toll higher than the birth rate.

I had such a difficult time putting this down! This is a very fast paced, quick read even though it’s almost 400 pages. I pretty much read it in 1 sitting! Although this is dystopian and there are many out there, there is nothing like this! This is a dark, chilling and stunning dual perspective read. Dystopia is truly one of my favorite genres because of what can be done to the future by what we do to it. One of my favorite types of dystopian’s is featured in this; controlling the population.

My only problem was having more explanation to the world which wasn’t explained until about halfway through the book. I was having a lot of unanswered questions while reading and I’m very glad they ended up getting answered.

I admired Meadow’s character; she was so kick butt and tough. I loved that she wasn’t afraid to put up a fight or go after what she wants to protect her family. Her little sister, Peri was adorable and so angelic. She reminded me a lot of Prim from The Hunger Games trilogy. Both younger sister’s bring out the soft side in both Meadow and Katniss. Other than just Peri, I really enjoyed all the side characters! There wasn’t a character that I didn’t find interesting and didn’t care less about.

I had to warm up to Zephyr first before I really started liking his character. His position he is placed in this world was touching and hard to read at times. But I found his character very interesting. It really didn’t take much for me to start loving his character honestly.

I wasn’t much of a fan of the romance; though Meadow and Zephyr are good together. They had so many conflicts that it was hard to decide if I should root for them or not.

Definitely an action-packed, fast paced, gory read that can be read in 1 sitting! I had a lot of fun while reading and cannot wait to see what is going to happen in the sequel!

signature

quotes

“I wish I could find the words to tell you how beautiful you are,” I whisper.

“Your eyes are closed.” She lets out a nervous laugh. “How can you say that if you aren’t even looking at me?”

“You’re ruining the moment.” — page 278

.

2 thoughts on “Review: The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings

  1. Great review! I’ve also followed this book since before it came out but I haven’t read it yet. I always hear good things about it so maybe it’s about time I finally pick it up!

Leave a Reply

