Review: Take Me Tomorrow by Shannon Thompson

take me tomorrowTake Me Tomorrow by Shannon Thompson
Published by AEC Stellar Publishing on July 12th 2014
Genres: Adventure, Dystopian, Young Adult
Pages: 252
Source: ARC copy from author
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Two years after the massacre, the State enforces stricter rules and harsher punishments on anyone rumored to support tomo – the clairvoyant drug that caused a regional uprising.
But sixteen-year-old Sophia Gray has other problems.
Between her father’s illegal forgery and her friend’s troubling history, the last thing Sophia needs is an unexpected encounter with a boy.
He’s wild, determined, and one step ahead of her. But when his involvement with tomo threatens her friends and family, Sophia has to make a decision: fight for a future she cannot see or sacrifice her loved ones to the world of tomorrow.

what i thoughtI received a copy in exchange for an honest review from the author. It does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This was such an interesting take on a dystopian world!

Sophia is in a world where a drug called tomo has forced the government to enforce strict rules. The drug that caused an uprising 2 years ago. Not only is her father involved in illegal forgery, she is introduced to Noah who is always one step ahead of her. He’s involved with this drug and because of it and his involvement with Sophia, she is now risking not only her life, but her families to help him out.

My main complaint about this is the world building and the backstory. Everything was progressing very well, but the world building was constantly slacking. Shannon Thompson does a great job at creating this world, but doesn’t give enough explanation to the world and enough backstory. It made it difficult to really envision this world. I would have liked to see more about the president, Phelps. I mean, who is this guy? As well as backstory to Sophia’s friends and their involvement.

I didn’t particularly care for romance; though it was sweet and cute. It didn’t consume the book and it didn’t really happen until the last quarter.

The pacing and Shannon’s writing style does not disappoint! The action immediately begins and your completely immersed into her writing. Sophia is not a character to mess with, mess with her and you just might get a throwing knife thrown at you. I loved Sophia’s character, such a kick butt, brave and strong character!!Sophia’s character is proof that girls don’t always need to be saved and need a “knight of shining armor”. She is one of the strongest heroine’s I’ve read so far and is a fantastic character!

I wasn’t expecting the plot twist at all and was shocked when it happened.

I’m really hoping there’s a sequel; Goodreads shows it as a stand alone. If there is a sequel, I’m hoping there’s more backstory and world building. I definitely recommend this to fans of dystopia.

signature

quotes

“Wait,” Noah grabbed my hand, looking up at me with tired eyes, “Sophie?”
Apparently, he did remember me.
“I’m here,” I said after a moment.
“Stay,” he breathed, and I felt the blood rush to my cheeks. I turned away, only to be met by Lily’s widened gaze. Mile’s jaw dropped, and Lyn smirked like she knew he would ask for me all along. — Shannon Thompson, Take Me Tomorrow

.

“I wanted to punch him and understand him at the same time.” ― Shannon Thompson, Take Me Tomorrow

One thought on “Review: Take Me Tomorrow by Shannon Thompson

  1. Pingback: January’s Ketchup | Shannon A Thompson

Leave a Reply

