Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’ll Never Read

top ten tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is a freebie so I chose a previously discussed topic I’ve never participated in yet; ‘Books I’ll Never Read’. This is is no particular order.

This one is an interesting topic. For a LONG time I told myself I’ll NEVER read Harry Potter. But within the last year or so that has completely changed. I’ve ordered my copies of the series and am planning to read for the first time in the summer (hopefully). So there’s a chance I could change my mind about these books, but as of now I won’t read them.

we were liars the perks of being a wallflower it's kind of a funny story the giver eragon pride and prejudice thirteen reasons why enders game 1984 lord of the rings

I picked 10 that are very well known in the book community. Now, don’t hurt me if these are some of your favorites. I just have no desire to pick them up. Maybe, one day — like I changed my mind with HP– I’ll change my mind about one or some of these! I just don’t ever see myself picking them up unfortunately..

signature

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’ll Never Read

  1. Interesting topic you chose. Honestly, the books of these that I’ve read… I feel like you aren’t missing much by not reading them. Except Pride and Prejudice, I really liked it when I read it about ten years ago – but I can totally understand not wanting to read it if it’s not your type of story. I’ve read the first in the Lord of the Rings trilogy and was bored through most of it. I know that’s a terrible thing to say, like I’ve let down everyone that I told I love fantasy books, but there you have it. And I too will not read Ender’s Game. It’s a book that interested me once, but I really don’t like the author so, yeah won’t be reading it.

    • Glad I’m not the only one! I had to read The Hobbit in high school, and wasn’t as much of a fan. I went and saw the movie with my boyfriend because he’s a big fan of Lord of the Rings, and I ended up falling asleep watching it. I don’t know if it was simply because I was just tired, or if I really was that bored. :P

  2. I love your topic. I read The Giver and honestly it was nothing special. It was interesting enough but nothing that would deserve such a hype as it gets. I enjoyed Thirteen Reasons Why but it’s not my favorite book by far. Maybe I should re-read it to see what I think of it now because I read it years ago. We Were Liars was one of my favorite books in 2014 but I do understand that someone might not want to read it. If I made a list similar to yours, Ender’s Game and Eragon would make it, that’s for sure.
    Awesome list!

  3. The Giver? Such a good book. I would definitely think about that one in the future. But I totally get the sentiment behind this post. There are so many well-known and well-loved books that I just cannot bring myself to read.

Leave a Reply

