Mini Review: Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor

days of blood and starlightDays of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor
Series: Daughter of Smoke and Bone #2
Published by Brown Books for Young Readers on November 6th 2012
Genres: Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 513
Source: Purchased
Goodreads
five-stars

Once upon a time, an angel and a devil fell in love and dared to imagine a world free of bloodshed and war.

This is not that world.

Art student and monster’s apprentice Karou finally has the answers she has always sought. She knows who she is—and what she is. But with this knowledge comes another truth she would give anything to undo: She loved the enemy and he betrayed her, and a world suffered for it.

In this stunning sequel to the highly acclaimed Daughter of Smoke & Bone, Karou must decide how far she’ll go to avenge her people. Filled with heartbreak and beauty, secrets and impossible choices, Days of Blood & Starlight finds Karou and Akiva on opposing sides as an age-old war stirs back to life.

While Karou and her allies build a monstrous army in a land of dust and starlight, Akiva wages a different sort of battle: a battle for redemption. Forhope.

But can any hope be salvaged from the ashes of their broken dream?

what i thoughtIt has been over a year since I read the first book. I still remembered quite a bit of things that happened in the first one; mainly just the important parts. Some details were fuzzy and most I remembered once I started reading this.

I love that this wasn’t surrounded around the romance. It was pretty much nonexistent honestly. Those that have read the first book and maybe the second would probably understand exactly why. I adore Laini Taylor’s writing style. Her writing is so gorgeous and SO well written, I’m just in a complete state of awe!

Fantasy isn’t one the genres I’m most familiar with mostly because of the complexity that comes with it. If the world is not completely explained, nothing will be fully understood in my eyes. The characters will fall flat, the overall picture of the world would be a blur. However, Laini Taylor knows what she’s doing! I will admit, it takes a couple chapters maybe the entire first half to really understand everything and what’s going on. But this series thus far is incredibly addicting! Because my review is soo late, my thoughts after reading aren’t that great because I’ve read over 15 since.

Im in love with Karou’s best friend, Zuzana! She’s probably my favorite so far in this trilogy! She’s hysterical and a perfect best friend!

This was an amazing sequel to one my favorite reads early 2014 and I hope to read the mammoth sized finale very soon! I don’t know when I will, because the size of it is very daunting and intimating.

again, I apologize for the “not so great” review. School got too busy and I fell behind.

signature

 

quotes

 

“Or… Perhaps Fate laid out your life for you like a dress on a bed, and you could either wear it or go naked.” — page 62

.

“Twelve miles? My love, have you ever walked twelve miles?”

“Sure,” said Zuzana. “Cumulatively.”

Mik laughed and shook his head. “Good thing you left your platforms behind.”

“As if. They’re in your pack.” — page 197

.

“I’m finger-painting with your sweat,” he informed her.  “That was a heart.”

“A sweat heart. How romantic.” –page 454

Leave a Reply

