Mini Review: On Dublin Street by Samantha Young

on dublin streetOn Dublin Street by Samantha Young
Series: On Dublin Street #1
Published by New American Library on August 31st, 2012
Genres: Contemporary, Contemporary Romance, New Adult, Romance
Pages: 336
Source: Purchased
Goodreads
five-stars

Jocelyn Butler has been hiding from her past for years. But all her secrets are about to be laid bare…

Four years ago, Jocelyn left her tragic past behind in the States and started over in Scotland, burying her grief, ignoring her demons, and forging ahead without attachments. Her solitary life is working well—until she moves into a new apartment on Dublin Street where she meets a man who shakes her carefully guarded world to its core.

Braden Carmichael is used to getting what he wants, and he’s determined to get Jocelyn into his bed. Knowing how skittish she is about entering a relationship, Braden proposes an arrangement that will satisfy their intense attraction without any strings attached.

But after an intrigued Jocelyn accepts, she realizes that Braden won’t be satisfied with just mind-blowing passion. The stubborn Scotsman is intent on truly knowing her… down to the very soul.

what i thought

Because it’s now about 3-4 months since I’ve read this, my review will be short and sweet to say. I absolutely adored this book to pieces! Ever since Beautiful Disaster last year, I have been in a new adult kick since and I can’t shake it. Even a year later. Easy to say NA is one of my favorite genres.

This isn’t a light and fluffy contemporary if that’s what your looking for. This deals with Jocelyn who has just had the most unimaginable and most heart-wrenching tradegy happen, the loss of her family due to a car accident. If that wasn’t bad enough, her best friend was also killed. Now completely alone, she travels internationally to Scotland to finish up college and start a new life. When she is forced to find a new roommate, she meets Ellie. Never wanting to grow close to anyone because of her past, she gradually starts becoming friends with Ellie. Then she meets Braden who happens to be Ellie’s brother who happens to have a girlfriend as well. Not wanting to have relationships with him, she tries avoiding him as much as she can but it’s hard when his sister is your roommate..

I don’t think there’s anything I didn’t like about this book honestly. Braden completely win my heart over and will have to share it with the other fictional boyfriends… It can work right? ;) I loved his bossy, sexy as hell, potty mouthed face. Words can’t describe my love for that man. He understood Jocelyn perfectly, knew what to do. The whole 9 yards. Literally perfection in a guy..

At times I will admit Jocelyn got annoying and I just wanted to grab through the pages and yell at her. But considering her past and the therapy she has gone through, it’s understandable. It was amazing to see her transformation from who she was in the beginning to who she became at the end. Such a well done new adult romance and couldn’t stress my love for it anymore. Cannot wait to read more of her books because she’s very talented! Highly recommend!!!!

signature

 

quotes

 

“Let me rephrase.” He took a seething step toward me. “When it comes to you… I don’t like to share.”– page 123

.

“I know you love me, Jocelyn, because there’s no fucking way I can be this much in love with you, and not have you feel the same way. It’s not possible.” –page 270

Leave a Reply

