Review: When We Met by A.L. Jackson, Tiffany King, Molly McAdams & Christina Lee

when we metWhen We Met by A.L. Jackson, Christina Lee, Molly McAdams, Tiffany King
Published by NAL on November 4th, 2014
Genres: Contemporary, Contemporary Romance, New Adult, Romance
Pages: 400
Source: Gifted
Goodreads
five-stars

Today’s premiere New Adult authors combine their talents to tell four original stories from inside one house.

When four girls decide to live off campus together as juniors at a college in Michigan, they expect it to be their best year yet. Little do they know, it’s a year that will change the rest of their lives.

BEHIND HER EYES by A.L. Jackson
Unable to live down her ex-boyfriend’s deception, Misha is determined to avoid betrayal. When, the new guy next door, Darryn starts to get under her skin, her defenses start to crumble. But trusting Darryn seems impossible, especially if he’s not sure he can trust himself.

SAVING ME by Molly McAdams
On the outside, Indy is always ready for a party—but inside she’s breaking. Kier makes a weekly routine of saving the girl next door from herself on Saturday nights… but when will she be ready to remember him on Sunday morning?

FOULING OUT by Tiffany King
Working at a sports bar, Courtney has become a pro at sidestepping propositions from arrogant jocks—which makes her a more elusive catch for campus basketball star Dalton than he expected. But when he falls for the saucy waitress, Dalton will have to rethink his game plan to prove he’s not the jerk Courtney expects.

BENEATH YOUR LAYERS by Christina Lee
In order to ace her fashion internship, Chloe must team up with local college dropout and set builder, Blake—much to her chagrin. But after some “hands-on” experience, Chloe will have to ask herself if Blake factors into her carefully laid plans…

what i thought

 

This was my first time reading all 4 of these lovely authors’ books and I couldn’t be happier. I adored all 4 of these love stories!

My favorite would probably have to be Behind Her Eyes by A.L. Jackson. I was obsessed and in love immediately. Don’t get me wrong, I adored all 4 of these authors and I’m REALLY looking forward to their actual books, but A.L. Jackson is the one who stood out the most out of the 4 for me.

I loved each of the stories for different reasons.

Behind Her Eyes by A.L. Jackson: I loved the chemistry between Misha and Darryn, but I loved the writing the most. Misha’s past has put a strain on future relationships for her. She got close to her last boyfriend and gave up her most vulnerable side it have it completely destroyed when everyone sees. Hunter, the ex-boyfriend is a complete dbag. I hated his guts so much. Darryn is a complete sweetheart and of course, extremely swoon-worthy. Though he’s keeping a secret from Misha..

Saving Me by Molly McAdams: I’ll admit, I think this was probably my favorite romance.. Indy and Kier’s relationship was so sweet and so heart-breaking… They are completely 2 different people, Indy likes to party and drink, Kier is VERY quiet and doesn’t go to parties. They couldn’t be more different. But they both have terrible parents. Kier was always Indy’s safe haven no matter what happened, he was there for her even when she didn’t know it.

Fouling Out by Tiffany King: Okay, childhood friendships always get me. I have such a soft spot for these kinds of romances. You can’t not like them. Courtney and Dalton grew up together but one day Dalton’s basketball fame got the best of him and they lost their friendship.

Beneath Your Layers by Christina Lee: Chloe and Blake’s story was probably my least favorite though I loved the authors writing. I just didn’t feel completely the same as I did with the other 3. I loved the banter between the 2 because they are being forced to work together. Both have different parents, Blake wants to be noticed by his mother and Chloe wants nothing more than to be away from hers.

 

Loved all 4 of these stories! I’m super excited to see what else these authors have written. I definitely recommend this to new adult fans as well as those like me that have never read these 4 authors. It’s a good way to get a glimpse at whether you would like their books or not. :)

signature

 

quotes

 

“All this thing needs is a little TLC.” He eyed me seriously. “You can’t just leave stuff like this out to rot. It needs to be maintained. Taken care of.” Then he winked. “The way ever girl deserves to be.” –page 31

.

“No matter what you think about yourself, I see differently. See, I don’t talk to people unless I want to give them my time. And, God, Indy, I want to give you my time. But I see people, and I sure as he’ll see you.”…. “And I’ll still be that guy. I’m still that safe place, and I’ll still be there ready to take care of you if you find you can’t handle whatever’s going on…” –page 148

.

To say I had behaved like a dog in heat would have been putting it mildly. Sex-starved prisoner would have been more accurate. I had totally made Dalton my prisoner bitch. — page 246

.

“What are you saying? We didn’t do anything besides kiss.” “But I went home knowing how your skin and your lips felt against mine and that… Almost satisfied my fantasies for the night.” A whimper burst from my lips. “You’re not the only one.” His eyes widened and he moved nearer. –page 331

Leave a Reply

