Review: Broken Skies by Theresa Kay

broken skiesBroken Skies by Theresa Kay
Series: Broken Skies #1
Published by Skyscape on January 13th 2015
Genres: Dystopian, Sci Fi> Aliens, Science Fiction
Pages: 372
Source: Finished copy from author
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Thirty years ago, civilization collapsed. Few survived.
Ten years ago, the aliens arrived…and stayed.
One year ago, I killed two men and went a little crazy.
Today, the aliens took my brother and I will do anything to get him back.

In seventeen-year-old Jax Mitchell’s world, humans are nearly extinct and alien settlers have arrived.

Until recently, the E’rikon have remained segregated in their city and ignored the few humans who have tried to engage them… but now they have taken Jax’s brother. To rescue him, she forms an uneasy alliance with a teenage E’rikon left stranded in the woods. She agrees to guide him to the city if he sneaks her past the human-proof barrier. Too bad it’s not that simple.

Jax, who cannot stand to be touched, finds that she’s drawn to the alien boy with bright green hair and jewel-like scales on his back. And he’s equally affected by her, the courageous redhead with haunted eyes. But she doesn’t know the alien’s true motives and he has no idea that she is much more than she seems.

With the aliens and the humans at odds, the connection forming between the two teens has consequences. What started off as a rescue mission sets a chain of events in motion which threatens not only the remaining humans and the growing alien society, but Earth itself.

what i thought

 

I received a copy in exchange for an honest review from the publisher. It does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This was amazing!! I’m so thankful Theresa Kay contacted me asking if I’d like to review this.. After seeing Ben from BenajminofTomes on BookTube rave about it, I knew I needed to get my hands on it somehow. After finishing the Lux series (one of my absolute-2nd all time favorite-series) late last year, I needed some more hot aliens! I love finding different books that portray aliens differently. No one knows what they actually look like, so seeing how authors create their own is very intriguing to me! Especially with our new hot alien-hotness, Lir. Who knew scales that run just below the neckline could be so dang sexy!!

Our main character, Jax is a feisty, tomboy who lives with her twin brother, Jace. They are extremely close considering their past and what happened to them growing up. With a catastrophic event wiping out about 90% of the population on Earth, Jax and Jace are just trying to survive. Not only are they the only few left, aliens are now coming to Earth…

Everything was fantastic! Plot, characters, romance, action, writing, everything. Just perfect! I’m really excited to see what happens next and getting to see Lir again. ;)

This was such a fast paced, sexy hot alien sexiness, fun read! There wasn’t a time when I felt I couldn’t continue on. I had to know what was going to happen and I always need more Lir. This book doesn’t disappoint at all and I loved every page! I highly recommend to fans of the Lux series, The 5 Wave and Alienated!

signature

 

quotes

“Sorry,” he mumbles. “I wasn’t trying to take advantage.” “You’re sorry for kissing me?” The half smile turns almost into a grin and he raises one eyebrow. “Do you want me to be?” “No. I want you to do it again.” — page 203

Leave a Reply

