Review: Destined for Dreams by Ginna Morgan

destined for dreamsDestined for Dreams by Ginna Morgan
Series: Destined for Dreams #1
Published by Briarcliffe Press on December 1st, 2014
Genres: Paranormal, Young Adult
Pages: 264
Source: Finished copy from author
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Seventeen-year-old Nadia Petrov is an outcast in her tight-knit community of people with special abilities. Nadia must invade people’s dreams to survive. She sneaks into sleeping victims’ rooms, slips into their heads, and then turns their dreams into horrifying nightmares.

When a new girl arrives at her compound, Nadia can’t resist giving the girl a nightmare. In the dream world, Nadia discovers Hunter Sullivan, a soul trapped in the girl’s mind. Intrigued by Hunter, Nadia secretly builds a relationship with him in the dream world, and they find solace through each other.

Unable to accept a love fated for dreams, Nadia must risk losing the safety of her community to help Hunter get back to his body before he’s lost forever.

what i thought

 

I received a finished copy from the author in exchange for my honest opinion. This does not reflect my feelings towards the book.

This book was so much fun! It was different from other paranormal books I’ve read! Definitely a unique and fun read. Our main character, Nadia is a nightmare inflictor… Meaning, in order for her to survive, she has to invade a host’s dream and create a nightmare beyond their worst fears… Nadia doesn’t like that is how she has to survive and makes herself completely weak before she is forced to create dreams. In this society, people like her are not noticed by society and are kept quiet. Her friend, Alyssa has willingly allowed Nadia to inflict nightmares on her knowing the consequences. Jacqueline is a sin-eater.. Meaning, she eats the souls of people who have sins… Only Hunter had none… So why him?

This was such a fun read… I loved the world, but I felt some explanation was left out. We only get introduced to 4 types of these people and I kept wondering if their were more… Maybe it will be explained more later in the series. :)

As I’ve mentioned in other reviews, I love having more than one point of view. I like that this is told from Nadia and Hunter’s perspectives. I wasn’t a huge fan of their romance, but I did like it. They are definitely a cute couple.

Im definitely looking forward to future books in this series and seeing what happens next! I recommend this to people looking for a quick, entertaining, different paranormal read. :)

signature

 

 

 

quotes

 

“I’m no longer afraid of who I am. It’s okay for me to be different and it’s okay for me to embrace even my darkest side as long as I know how it affects my life and those around me.”– Ginna Morgan, Destined for Dreams

Leave a Reply

