Review: The Hazards of Skinny Dipping by Alyssa Rose Ivy

the hazards of skinny dippingThe Hazards of Skinny Dipping by Alyssa Rose Ivy
Published by Self Published on May 17th 2013
Genres: Contemporary, Contemporary Romance, New Adult, Romance
Pages: 249
Source: Finished copy from publisher
Goodreads
four-stars

This isn’t a deep book about first loves or self-discovery. If you want a book like that, I’d be happy to recommend one, but I don’t have that kind of story to tell. Instead my story is about rash decisions and finding out that your dream guy is bad in bed. It’s the story of when I finally went skinny dipping, and how my life was never the same again. Oh, and it’s also the story of my freshman year of college and realizing Mr. Right might have been there all along.

what i thoughtI received a finished copy from InkSlinger PR in exchange for my honest opinion. This does not reflect my feelings towards the book.

Juliet is starting college soon and her cousin whom she is very close with has given her a list of things to accomplish. One of them being skinny dipping. While away at the family beach house, Juliet decides to go skinny dipping late at night in her pool, thinking she would be alone… Not quite. Dylan comes into the picture, who of which Juliet has put on a pedestal for pretty much her entire life. She has fantasized about Dylan countless times and now it’s coming true. But as he starts spending more and more time with her, she’s starting to wonder if maybe it’s too good to be true?

Juliet has pledged to a sorority in which we meet Reed. Reed acts like a big brother figure to Juliet, offers her a job, a friendship and someone to talk to. But maybe that’s not what Reed or even, Juliet wants. But who will she choose?

I adored this. Yes, it was predictable and not what I expected. But by that, I mean it in a good way. I was nervous come the 60% mark and nothing was changing, but the last 3/4ths made up for that. The one thing I wanted more of was the characters and more back story, especially with Juliet. I felt we got a good chunk of Reed’s past, but not a whole lot on Juliet. I didn’t feel much of a connection to the characters and fully understanding them.

This borders YA and NA. NA enough because our character is 18 and in college and is obviously an adult doing adult things. ;) YA in the fact that a lot of NA’s I’ve come across, go in detail when things get heated. This doesn’t. It goes into a little detail but nothing like some NA books get. This would be perfect for someone wanting to branch unto NA, but not wanting to be immediately thrown into descriptive sex scenes. Also, a perfect summer read.

I like how this is different from a lot of New Adult books I’ve read lately. Most main characters are still virgins, and in Juliet’s case, she isn’t. Overall, I loved Juliet’s character! I loved all the sarcastic comments coming not only from her, but other characters as well.

I read it all in a day. Cute read, would definitely recommend. I’m excited to continue with this series as well as read more by this author. :)

quotes

“This kind of feels like the beginning of a YA novel.” She laughed.
“No. Trust me. The contents of this letter are not YA appropriate.” — The Hazards of Skinny Dipping, Alyssa Rose Ivy

.

“Do you always get Twizzlers at the movies?” He sipped his soda.

“Yes. I love them, and popcorn is the worst movie theater food.”

“The worse? This I have to hear.”
“You can’t eat popcorn without getting thirsty, which means drinking a lot, which means going to the bathroom during the best scene of the movie.”The Hazards of Skinny Dipping, Alyssa Rose Ivy

One thought on “Review: The Hazards of Skinny Dipping by Alyssa Rose Ivy

Leave a Reply

