Review: Caught in the Glow by Eva Chase

caught in the glowCaught in the Glow by Eva Chase
Series: The Glower Chronicles #1
Published by Ink Spark Press on October 13th, 2015
Genres: New Adult, Paranormal, Romance
Pages: 202
Source: ARC copy from author
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

When she was a child, Avery Harmen watched her father die at the hands of a Glower–a breed of demon that feeds on dreams of fame and glory. Now she secretly protects the rising stars of Los Angeles from the demons that prey on them, determined to make sure her clients never suffer the same fate.

Then Avery finds herself assigned to Colin Ryder, a young indie rocker who just landed a major label deal. Colin is cocky, rebellious, a brilliant musician, and already in the Glowers’ sights. He’s also far too hot for Avery to ignore the chemistry between them–especially when she gets to know the tender side behind his celebrity facade. Though Avery knows she’s falling too fast, she’s willing to risk heartbreak if fanning the flames of attraction distracts Colin from his Glower-tempting antics. But Colin is keeping a secret of his own, one so big it will put both her heart and his soul on the line.

The first book in The Glower Chronicles, a steamy New Adult paranormal series.

Each book in The Glower Chronicles contains a stand-alone romance, but it is recommended that you read them in order to best appreciate the ongoing subplots.

what i thoughtI received an ARC copy in exchange for an honest review from the author. It does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book! When the author contacted me about her book and told me it was new adult romance with a paranormal element, I was all in. I’m not that familiar with new adult paranormal; only YA. YA paranormal is one of my all time favorite genres and I have Twilight to thank for that. This was a great paranormal read! Demon-like creatures who suck your passion out of you? COUNT ME IN!

Avery watched her dad die and as you guessed, by a Glower. Now sworn to destroy the things that killed her father, she secretly helps protect famous musicians from having the same fate as her dad. She is currently to protect Colin Ryder. She knows all too well who Colin Ryder is. She went to school with him at one point, but not that he would notice. He has a thing for the ladies and he makes that very clear to Avery when she comes to protect him. He has a bad temper and it doesn’t take much for him to be set off. But neither of the 2 can ignore the chemistry building between the 2.

I’m a hardcore romance addict- that much is true. So it is without a doubt I LOVEDDD the romance between Colin and Avery. I love my bad-boy/rocker types and Colin was just that. I loved his character! Avery’s as well; though at times I just wanted to slap her for taking SOO long. But what can a girl do? ;)

My only issue was the building on these Glowers. I understand what they are and what they do, but I felt they were neglected and not enough was put into this element. I felt I didn’t understand enough of these creatures and how they are built into this urban reality. The overall description of these creatures is beyond awesome in my eyes. I’m a sucker for paranormal and these creatures are the perfect image of paranormal. They are very interesting characters; being able to suck the passion and drive out of a person.

I loved this book- I’m excited to see what happens next and who the story will follow next! I recommend to fans of paranormal and those bridging into new adult from young adult. Though, I would wait if your not used to sex scenes and that type of scene. Wait until you’ve had a couple “introductory” books then come to this one. :)

signature

photo

Leave a Reply

