Review: Vintage Volume 1 by Lisa Suzanne

vintage vol 1Vintage Volume 1 by Lisa Suzanne
Series: Vintage #1
Published by Self Published on May 1st 2015
Genres: Contemporary Romance, New Adult, Romance, Suspense
Pages: 316
Source: Finished copy from author
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

Born the daughter of a rock star and his groupie, my life should have been full of glitz and glamour. But the excess and embarrassment of that life didn’t interest me. Instead, I killed time at Vintage, a record store where I stocked shelves and lacked ambition.

Everything changed the moment I pressed play. One simple lyric awakened me.

When I stopped denying my attraction to the man behind the music, I started questioning his intentions. We were meant to cross paths, but it wasn’t because of fate.

Someone was playing with our lives.

what i thought

Roxy (CC or Jimi) has a close, tight-knit group of friends and family. She is the daughter of a rock legend and because of her dad, this is why she has a small group of people. Most people she has tried to let into her life, has abused that relationship to get closer to her rock-star father. Even though she has a small group, the one person she can trust more than anything is her dad. However, Roxy doesn’t like living under her dad’s legend, she just wants a normal life. Roxy works at a music coffee shop called Vintage. There, she meets Parker who is in an upcoming band and she is immediately drawn to him. Having kept her emotions dormant for so long, after spending just a little time with Parker, those feelings are starting to resurface. Just when she thinks meeting Parker was fate, she finds out that it was planned.

I have always enjoyed music related romance stories! I wanted to at times, strangle the main character for being so frustrating, but I do understand why. This was a quick read and Lisa does a fantastic job at grabbing your attention. Not a moment passed where I felt I needed to take a break from reading. There was always something going on and it was impossible to put down because of it. The constant suspense of who’s doing what, what’s going to happen, and everything, it seriously was hard to put down.

The reason why this is 4 stars is because I felt I didn’t get enough of Parker. With everything going on in this book, I think with adding Parker’s perspective (even if it was just a couple chapters here and there) I would have been able to follow him better. With an added perspective, I think this could have been a 4.5 or even a 5 star rating!

This does end on a cliffhanger, just so you are warned. I’m very curious to see how this will play out!

photo 3(3) photo 2(3) photo 1(3)

Leave a Reply

