Review: Built by Jay Crownover

builtBuilt by Jay Crownover
Series: Saints of Denver #1
Published by William Morrow on January 5th 2016
Genres: Contemporary, Contemporary Romance, New Adult, Romance
Pages: 352
Source: ARC copy from publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

From the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Marked Men books comes an electrifying new spin-off series,Saints of Denver, featuring all the characters fans have been dying to read about.

Sayer Cole and Zeb Fuller couldn’t be more different. She’s country club and fine-dining, he’s cell-block and sawdust. Sayer spends her days in litigation, while Zeb spends his working with his hands. She’s French silk, he’s all denim and flannel.

Zeb’s wanted the stunning blonde since the moment he laid eyes on her. It doesn’t matter how many smooth moves he makes, the reserved lawyer seems determinedly oblivious to his interest—either that or she doesn’t return it. Sayer is certain the rough, hard, hot-as-hell Zeb could never want someone as closed off and restrained as she is, which is a shame because something tells her he might be the guy to finally melt her icy exterior.

But just as things start to heat up, Zeb is blindsided by a life altering moment from his past. He needs Sayer’s professional help to right a wrong and to save more than himself. He can’t risk what’s at stake just because his attraction to Sayer feels all consuming. But as these opposites dig in for the fight of their lives, battling together to save a family, the steam created when fire and ice collide can no longer be ignored.Sayer Cole and Zeb Fuller are as different as two people can be. She’s country club and fine-dining, he’s cell-block and kill it and grill it. Sayer spends her days in litigation, while Zeb spends his working with his hands. She’s French silk while he’s denim and flannel.

The differences between the two of them don’t stop Zeb from dropping every hint he can think of that he would like to get to know her on a more personal level, but Sayer seems oblivious to his interest or is just too nice to tell him to take a hike. To Sayer, a guy like Zeb could never be interested in someone as reserved and boring as she is. She’s never been with anyone that was hot enough to melt the icy exterior she’s had wrapped around hera since her awful childhood. But what if Zeb is the one who might finally thaw her out…?

what i thoughtI received an ARC copy in exchange for an honest review from Ink Slinger PR. It does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This was my first book of the year and 2nd book I’ve read by this amazing author! Rule was one of my favorite books last year, so I had a feeling I would love this book just as much. Jay Crownover creates such swoon-worthy men, it is IMPOSSIBLE not to fall for their stories. :)
Zeb and Sayer couldn’t be any different – as it goes, opposites attract! She’s a lawyer and he runs a construction company. Both have had things happen in the past, both affecting them hard. Sayer is an “ice queen” and Zeb was a prisoner. Zeb helps Sayer build her dream home and she helps him deal with a case. They start spending more time with each other; Zeb wants to be with her and Sayer doesn’t want to (but she secretly does). Can Sayer get passed her issues from her past or will it drive Zeb away?
I have only read Rule from the Marked Men series so I was really worried I would get spoiled. Built is a spin-off from Marked Men so we do see some of the boys from the previous series make their appearance with their significant others. My biggest concern was having major plots spoiled from the series, but that wasn’t the case. Yes, we get a glimpse of who they end up with and what happens years down the road (as in kids), but that didn’t bother me. I have been dying to continue the MM series since I read the first, now I feel even more excited to do so.
I have fallen completely head over heels over Zeb (then again, who wouldn’t?!). I haven’t met too many bearded men, let alone ones that are also tattooed. I think Zeb has ruined all other future book boyfriends for me. ;) I was worried after the first few chapters that I wasn’t going to fall for these characters, but it progressed VERY quickly and as I said, I fell hard. I couldn’t help but be frustrated at Sayer, it drove me crazy. But seeing her work through her issues and really try, it warmed my heart and she definitely made the list for favorite females.

 

I hope Poppy gets a story- I feel like hers is going to be a struggle (DUH), but I really enjoyed her character.If I had to pick a favorite side character that I feel deserves their own story– she would be it!
You guys have to pick this up! Even if you haven’t started MM, or have only read a few, this CAN be read as a standalone- it is mentioned in the beginning. Just know, you will be spoiled with who ends up with who and get a glimpse of the couples’ futures. This however, wasn’t something that bothered me. I’m very serious about not skipping books in series, even if this is a spin off. But with this, I feel like its okay to skip.

signature

photo 1(6)

photo 2(6)

photo 3(5)

Leave a Reply

