Review: Waiting for Wyatt by S.D. Hendrickson

Waiting for Wyatt Cover SMWaiting for Wyatt by S.D. Hendrickson
Published by Self Published on January 12th 2016
Genres: Contemporary, Contemporary Romance, New Adult, Romance
Pages: 343
Source: ARC copy from author
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

“The dogs that deserved a chance, the guy who needed a second, and the girl determined to save him.”

My name is Emma Sawyer.

I met Charlie and Wyatt on the same sultry, summer day. It was unexpected, leaving a feeling in the pit of my stomach like the time I drove too fast over Beckett Hill. The moment happened out of nowhere, all fast and quick and a little strange. Or maybe that was just Wyatt’s personality.

It was Charlie that brought us together. Little Charlie with those ridiculous ears. I found the dog, waiting in a pool of his own blood. Waiting for someone. Waiting for me.

Now Wyatt, he wasn’t waiting for anyone. At least that’s what he said, except I saw something different in the broken guy all alone out in the woods. I knew he needed me before he knew it himself.

Wyatt with his hidden dimples. Wyatt with his warnings to stay away. He was a hard lump of coal, ready to burn everything around him. The more he burned, the more it pulled me into the pain I saw etched on his troubled face.

I wanted to help Wyatt. I wanted to save him like he had saved all the Charlies in the world. He told me not to fall for him, but I did anyway. I fell hard and fast and deeply in love with Wyatt Caulfield.

But that was before I knew his secret.

what i thoughtI received an ARC copy in exchange for an honest review from the author. It does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

I can’t even contain my emotions… I read The Mason List this summer and absolutely fell in LOVE with the story and the writing. S.D. is truly a gifted writer and it shows again in this book. This book was not sunshine and rainbows. I’m not going to spoil anything because going in, you don’t really know much and I’m going to keep it that way in this review.

I’m honestly not even going to attempt to write my own synopsis because I fear I will spoil something. This book sounds vague, but trust me when I say, it was completely worth it! You had no idea what was going to happen, who Wyatt is, what has he done and why Emma isn’t supposed to chase him.

I WILL say this involves animal abuse – not something too spoilery, but something I needed to mention… I like that authors are adding this subject into books and S.D. makes this a big portion of the book. I couldn’t help but get teary eyed MANY times while reading and just from the mention of the animal abuse. You MIGHT want to have a couple boxes of tissues with you or maybe some chocolate. :)

I feel like this book truly messed with my emotions. I was shocked at how well S.D. played with my emotions! I’m not trying to make this book into some TEAR jerker and just SOOO upsetting book, but it seriously played with my emotions hardcore!

Everything about this book was tragically beautiful, which I think is the best way to describe it. This book broke my heart MANY MANY times and I honestly lost count after the 10th time. This book truly affected my emotions. I can’t stress my love for this book, The Mason List and Mrs. Hendrickson enough.

You are going to fall for Wyatt and the entire story! Be prepared!!! <3

signature

photo 1 (7)

photo 2 (7)

photo 3 (6)

photo 4 (3)

photo 5 (2)

Leave a Reply

