Review: A Healing Heart by Melissa A. Hanson

a healing heartA Healing Heart by Melissa A. Hanson
Series: Riverview #1
Published by Self Published on January 22nd 2012
Genres: Coming of Age, Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 270
Source: Finished copy from author
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

On a bitter cold winter night Bailey Walsh’s family was killed in a traffic accident. Two years later as she lives with her aunt and uncle in Southern California, Bailey is still plagued by the nightmares of that terrible night. Everywhere around her are reminders of what she lost. Even her aunt, in a cruel twist of fate, is not just her mom’s sister, but her identical twin. Babysitting Riley, a spunky two-year old, is a sweet distraction and one constant light in her life. One day as she takes Riley to the park she meets Collin McKenna, a senior at her high school and her life is changed forever as he helps her find herself and realize her life is worth living. As the romance between them grows her broken heart begins to heal. However, still nagging in the back of her conscious is the fear that her new found happiness could come crashing down and she could lose everything she loves, yet again. Outside forces begin to tear them apart and Bailey must learn to trust in herself and realize that she is worthy of happiness. That sometimes love and healing comes in unexpected forms.

what i thoughtI received a finished copy in exchange for an honest review from the author. It does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This is a coming of age romance story where our main character, Bailey has lost her entire family in an accident. It’s been 2 years since the deaths of her family and she is currently living with her aunt and uncle. Living life after everything was taken from her, to make it worse, her aunt is her mom’s identical twin. One day while taking Riley, a 2 year old she babysits for to the park, she runs into senior, Collin. He has completely changed her life the closer they get to each other. But when something comes between them, can they survive it?

Absolutely freaking loved every bit of this book! Definitely didn’t expect how devastating and sad this book was going to be. I don’t usually pay attention to synopsis’ because I just like going in blind. I knew this was going to be a clean romance that just bridges the NA genre. That’s what I liked most about it. This book was BEAUTIFUL! I cannot stress that enough. Melissa A. Hanson is such a talented writer! I was worried going in that I wasn’t going to like it because all I’ve been reading for the past year is pretty much NA romance. Nope, this book was beyond words amazing. I just get giddy thinking of this book to be honest. This book definitely does not get the love and appreciation it should have.

I was getting some serious anxiety towards the end because I wasn’t sure how it was going to play out.That’s how completely immersed I was into this story. Books like these are ones I never forget. Even almost a month after reading the book and writing my review right now, I remember everything that happened. This is one of those that will leave an imprint on you.

Loved it all, especially the extra point of view, I thought that was awesome having that. We don’t just get Bailey and Collin’s point of view, but another character we meet in the book. I won’t spoil who it is, I want to leave that a secret and for you to figure out! :)

Recommend to everyone! This can be read for those wanting to start bridging to NA romance. This is perfect for that! There is no sex and for someone wanting to dip those toes and test it out, this is perfect! It’s perfect for all ages honestly. This book, I just cannot contain my love for it! Your going to love it and fall for the characters!!

signature

photo 1(7)

Leave a Reply

