My Reading Stack (#27)

reading stackI have slacked again badly… Sorry guys, it’s sometimes hard for me to manage my blog on top of work and school. I’m going to play catch up and discuss all the books I’ve finished since my last post which was January 31st! Whoops…

Week of January 31st-February 6th:

he will be my ruin making faces faithful

  • He Will Be My Ruin by K.A. Tucker: If I did quarter stars this might be a 4.75, but I need time to soak this book in. For now I’ll keep it at 5 stars, but I might do a 4.5, we will see. But wow. This was my first K.A. book, I have heard nothing but praise about her books and have been dying to read hers for over 2 years now. How I’ve yet to start until now is beyond me… I did expect this to be a mystery along with more romance. This doesn’t have much of any romance which honestly was nice. All I read for the most part now-a-days is romance! Because this is a mystery, I don’t want to start rambling about my feelings too much for fear of spoiling something. I’ll have more concrete thoughts in a final review, but know if your a fan of hers or even a fan of mystery, this is the book for you! It had me on my toes blaming almost every character that came into contact with our main character, Maggie. I do like that we get chapters in Celine’s POV. I read this along with a friend and we kept sending texts about what we thought was going to happen. Loved this book, full review to come soon!
    • FINAL RATING: ☆☆☆☆½
  • Making Faces by Amy Harmon: Wow, it took me this long to get to this one. I can’t believe I waited so long to read this book! Well technically I listened as an audio– which was FANTASTIC BTW. The narrator was PERFECT! It did take some time for the book to completely make it for me, but once it did, it became an all time favorite for me. I loved this book, it broke my heart, I tried SOOO hard not to cry at the end. I didn’t expect it to happen, my heart was racing and hoping and praying it wasn’t going to end like that. Amy Harmon is such an incredibly talented writer! WOW! I can’t wait to start her others now that I have a feel for how she writes! Just, wow. Beautifully written is all I can say… I did at times lose track of what point in time the book went to because I listened to it on audio. Sometimes it’s hard to concentrate when the book isn’t in front of you stealing your focus. But especially the last few hours of the book, I tried to work on other stuff and multi task, but I caught myself just staring at nothing just soaking in the book and seeing it happen through my eyes. Seriously, this book… If you haven’t read it yet, please do so ASAP.
    • FINAL RATING: ☆☆☆☆☆
  • Faithful by Kelly Elliott: Ugh, it’s impossible not to love these books! I have fallen for every character and that ending is seriously killing me. I don’t like it. it’s hurting my heart big time. I think Faithful is my favorite story, but Gunner is still my favorite male. :) Very excited for Amanda and Brad’s story then Jessie and Scott’s! :)
    • FINAL RATING: ☆☆☆☆☆

WEEK OF February 7th-13th:

twisted bond believe a wanted christmas seduction and snacks

  • Twisted Bond by Emma Hart: I loved this book. Holy cow, Noelle was freaking hilarious. The conversations between all the characters cracked me up the entire time. The tension between Drake and Noelle was unreal. I can’t wait to start book 2, don’t know when I am, but I’m excited regardless!
    • FINAL RATING: ☆☆☆☆☆
  • Believe by Kelly Elliott: Loved this of course! Very glad it was all Amanda and Brad’s POV. I was worried it would alternate like the other 3. So I’m glad it was only their POV. I’m so addicted to this series and I’ve become soo attached to all the characters! can’t wait to see Scott and Jessie’s story next!
    • FINAL RATING: ☆☆☆☆☆
  • Seduction and Snacks by Tara Sivec: This book was hilarious! I haven’t read many romcom books pretty much other than Pucked by Helena Hunting, but oh my god this was hilarious! I couldn’t stop smiling and laughing while reading! Loved this book, no bad things to say. I need more Tara Sivec!
    • FINAL RATING: ☆☆☆☆☆

WEEK OF February 14th-20th:

you the resistance archers voice after the rain

  • You by Caroline Kepnes: This is so different from what I normally read that I had to let it sit for a few hours to think about my rating. This book was just creepy, yet a good book. As I’ve said on Instagram, it’s definitely interesting. Wouldn’t say Joe is book boyfriend material lol but he’s definitely… interesting. Can’t wait to read book 2! Might do the audiobook!
    • FINAL RATING: ☆☆☆☆☆
  • The Resistance by S.L. Scott: I listened as an audiobook, narration wasn’t too crazy about. I couldn’t feel the connection between Dalton and Holiday – Dalton unfortunately just didn’t do it for me and I really tried to love his character. I felt like I missed alot about his character and couldn’t fully connect with him. I actually liked Holly’s neighbor, Danny better. We don’t get a whole lot of his character, but what I got, I liked his character. But for all we know, he could be terrible. :P For now, I still like him. I didn’t expect the plot twist at all. I could literally feel my heart just drop and stop literally. I was driving to class and I tried so hard to contain my emotions. Showing up bawling my eyes out and trying to explain, “ohh, I’m just crying because of a book”. I liked the general idea of the book, but just couldn’t get the connection which stinks because I liked the idea of these 2 and who they are. The ending brought a smile to my face that’s for sure.
    • FINAL RATING: ☆☆☆½
  • Archer’s Voice by Mia Sheridan: I think it goes without saying that this is one of my all time favorite books. As I always say, I’m kicking myself for just now having read it. I haven’t come across a single person that has said they didn’t like this book. This book was so beautifully written you can’t help but fall in love with it. Bree and Archer have claimed a piece of my heart- their story brought tears to my eyes to many times to count. I couldn’t put the book down for the life of me, even when I probably should have been working on homework for my classes. I have absolutely no doubt in my mind that the next book I decide to pick up by her, that, and all of them will be amazing. Mia Sheridan is an incredibly talented author; can’t stress my love for this book enough!
    • FINAL RATING: ☆☆☆☆☆
  • After the Rain by Renee Carlino: This was my first Renee Carlino book and I loved it. I thought this was about a cowboy honestly, not a cowgirl. But ohh man did I love this book! I wanted to chunk the book and shake the 2 characters the last 30 pages. I just wanted to slam my head against something but I guess it had to happen. I related to Ava/Lena/Avelina’s character so much in the beginning.
    • FINAL RATING: ☆☆☆☆½

WEEK OF February 21st-27th:

the bet

  • The Bet by Rachel Van Dyken: Such a cute and funny book. Definitely exceeded my expectations. I didn’t expect to love it as much as I did. It was a quick read and the story is fast-paced. Grandma Nadine will become a favorite character, loved her to pieces. Travis is definitely on my list of book boyfriends (which is forever long). Maybe I missed the explanation (honestly I probably did) but I’m curious to know what happened to her parents… Again, probably missed it. Whoops! But can’t wait to read more of Rachel’s books!
    • FINAL RATING: ☆☆☆☆½

CURRENTLY READING:

driven in flight

I’ll be finishing Driven today; only have about 50 pages left! I’m really enjoying it and I’m glad I own the whole e-book boxset. I’m also reading Raced, which is the novella that is comprised of Colton’s thoughts throughout the whole trilogy, so those chapters are woven into the trilogy. I’m listening to In Flight and will have it finished before Saturday. Since I still have a big chunk left of the book, I’ll be alternating listening and reading the paperback so I finish in time for ABF! (Separate post about my experience will come soon after next Saturday!)

signature

Leave a Reply

