Review: Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi

unravel meUnravel Me by Tahereh Mafi
Series: The Darkest Minds #2
Published by: HarperCollins on February 5th 2013
Genre: Dystopia, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 461
Source: Bought- Hardcover
Buy the Book / Goodreads
My Rating: 5 stars2

tick
tick
tick
tick
tick
it’s almost
time for war.

Juliette has escaped to Omega Point. It is a place for people like her—people with gifts—and it is also the headquarters of the rebel resistance.

She’s finally free from The Reestablishment, free from their plan to use her as a weapon, and free to love Adam. But Juliette will never be free from her lethal touch.

Or from Warner, who wants Juliette more than she ever thought possible.

In this exhilarating sequel to Shatter Me, Juliette has to make life-changing decisions between what she wants and what she thinks is right. Decisions that might involve choosing between her heart—and Adam’s life.

WILL CONTAIN SPOILERS FROM SHATTER ME, CONSIDER  SELF WARNED!

Juliette, Adam, Kenji, and James have escaped to Omega Point. Omega Point is a place hidden underground and is also the rebel resistance. People there have gifts just like Juliette does. After shooting Warner in the arm and rescuing Adam, Juliette is finally free from being held prisoner.  No one but Juliette knows that Warner can touch her. The Supreme Commander of The Reestablishment, whom is Warner’s father is in town and no one knows what he looks like. He is very interested in Juliette and her gift, but doesn’t feel that she should be alive. Juliette has to make many life changing decisions, some that even include those she cares about.

My Thoughts:

Oh my gosh, okay. I am in LOVE with Tahereh Mafi’s writing style! I can’t get over how amazing and beautiful it is! I literally COULD NOT put the book down. Every time I would tell myself it was time to take a break, something would happen and I’d be drawn back in and read another 50 pages and repeat that process. I was so engrossed the entire time and always wanting more.

I kept telling myself that I wouldn’t love Warner, especially after I read Destroy Me… But I did. He grew on me a lot. I’m still conflicted as to what team I want to be for.. It does lean more towards Adam that’s for sure. Warner is slowing climbing up there though. I thought people were crazy to go for Team Warner, but after reading the past two books and understand him more as a character, it was hard not to fall for him. He’s crazy, ruthless and insane! I tried VERY hard not to like him and for everything that he did. But, Tahereh Mafi made me fall for him. But, that’s okay!

Juliette has gotten a lot more stronger as a person since Shatter Me. In Shatter Me she was very kept to herself and wanted to be alone. Yes, there were some parts where she continued to be like this, but she’s been that way since she was sent to the asylum. Overall, her character has gotten so much more brave, strong, and self-confident. She has started to accept who she is and her gift.

I was very curious what everyone was talking about with Chapter 62.. I had an idea of what it would be.. and HOLY MOLY GUACAMOLE! WOW! Talk about a scene!..

I’m so excited to read the second novella, Fracture Me which will be told in Adam’s point of view. We didn’t get to see the happy side of Adam at all during Unravel Me. I am also excited about Ignite Me, but I have a while to wait for that one… :(

Favorite Quotes:

“Every day I stare at these 4 walls and remind myself I’m not a prisoner I’m not a prisoner I’m not a prisoner but sometimes the old fears streak across my skin and I can’t seem to break free of the claustrophobia clutching at my throat.”

.

“It’s the kind of kiss that makes you realize oxygen is overrated.”

.

“Hope can make people do terrible things.”

.

“I want to be the friend you fall hopelessly in love with. The one you take into your arms and into your bed and into the private world you keep trapped in your head. I want to be that kind of friend. The one who will memorize the things you say as well as the shape of your lips when you say them. I want to know every curve, every freckle, every shiver of your body.

I want to know where to touch you, I want to know how to touch you. I want to know convince you to design a smile just for me. Yes, I do want to be your friend. I want to be your best friend in the entire world.”

.

“The man is moody as hell.”

“I am not moody—”

“Yeah, bro.” Kenji puts his utensils down. “You are moody. It’s always ‘Shut up, Kenji.’ ‘Go to sleep, Kenji.’ ‘No one wants to see you naked, Kenji.’ When I know for a fact that there are thousands of people who would love to see me naked—”

5 thoughts on “Review: Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi

  1. OHMYGOODNESS FREAKIN GRACIOUS YOU LOVED IT AND I AM SO HAPPY AND I HAPPY DANCE TO THIS REVIEW!!

    Haha, okay Jasmine, calm down XD Anywaaaay, Unravel Me was probably one of my favorite books of the year, because it was just so suspenseful and electrifying and it just gave me ALL THE DAMN FEELS. I used to think that anyone on Team Warner (What Warner? Pshhh) was completely out of their rocker, but after reading Destroy Me and Unravel Me, my views on him just flipped over and did a 360. He was so vulnerable and so real in both books, and I slowly loved his character until he was almost at par with Kenji (but Kenji is STILL forever the best for me!). I still like Adam too though! I wish to see a less agitated side of him in Ignite Me :) great review Brianna <3

    P.S. Chapter 62 on repeat. HA. Now drown in all my love for this chapter. HAHA!

    • Haha yes! I didn’t think I would EVER love Warner. He’s a ruthless, mean person seriously! I can’t believe how much I liked him after I finished Unravel Me! I NEVER fall for the bad guy.. Ever! I’m usually the one that falls for the obvious love, like Adam. I still don’t know what team I want to be on honestly. It’s so hard to pick between the two. And I LOVE Kenji! He’s so funny!!!
      I now understand why everyone loves Chapter 62. :)

  2. I’m so glad you LOVED it too. I adore Tahera Mafi’s writing style, but a ton of people hate it so, ya know, it get’s a bit annoying. Plus, Warner is my favorite. Almost all of my favorites are sociopaths and I’m starting to worry if something is wrong with me…
    Anyways, Unravel Me is a FANTABULOUS book and I liked it even better than Shatter Me.

  3. Pingback: Waiting on Wednesday (#9): Fracture Me by Tahereh Mafi | Brianna's Bookish Confessions

  4. Pingback: Review: Faery Tales & Nightmares by Melissa Marr | Brianna's Bookish Confessions

Leave a comment