Review: Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare

Infernal_Devices_Book_1_Clockwork_Angel_9781406321326_CVRClockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare
Series: The Infernal Devices #1
Published by: Simon & Schuster, Margaret K. McElderry on August 31st 2010
Genre: Fantasy, Steampunk, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 479
Source: Bought- Paperback

amazongoodreads

My Rating: 5 stars2

In a time when Shadowhunters are barely winning the fight against the forces of darkness, one battle will change the course of history forever. Welcome to the Infernal Devices trilogy, a stunning and dangerous prequel to the New York Times bestselling Mortal Instruments series.

The year is 1878. Tessa Gray descends into London’s dark supernatural underworld in search of her missing brother. She soon discovers that her only allies are the demon-slaying Shadowhunters—including Will and Jem, the mysterious boys she is attracted to. Soon they find themselves up against the Pandemonium Club, a secret organization of vampires, demons, warlocks, and humans. Equipped with a magical army of unstoppable clockwork creatures, the Club is out to rule the British Empire, and only Tessa and her allies can stop them…

my thoughts 2

I think from now on I’m not gonna write my own summary.. If you guys like them, I’ll keep doing them.

It was about time that I jumped back into the Shadowhunter world. I binged-marathoned (if that’s a word) The Mortal Instruments within a months time and didn’t read anything else. I needed a break from the world for a while and refresh my mind. Well, it’s been like 3-4 months, and I was ready to jump back in!

I will admit, I didn’t enjoy it for a while. Some parts dragged on and I was getting confused during some parts. I was close to giving it a 4.5/5 stars, but the last 100 pages bumped that right back up.

I CAN NOT get over this world, it’s probably hands down my all time favorite world. They are soo many different creatures and Shadowhunters and everything! It’s hard not to be bored while reading it! No matter what is going on, something interesting is happening and it’s almost impossible to put the book down. Now, I know I said some parts dragged, but that didn’t mean I was ready to put the book down. It was still VERY interesting!

Tessa is such an awesome character, she’s so strong and brave! All she wanted to do was find her brother and protect him. She has already lost all her family (not a spoiler, all people in TMI & TID don’t really have families) and Nate was all she had left. She was willing to sacrifice her life.. Many times to save his! Let’s talk about the boys– Jem and Will. Okay, I love both of them. Jem is a complete gentleman and a complete sweetheart. Will, well, Will is Will. He reminds me A LOT of Jace.. But I guess there’s a reason for that.. :) But, there’s just something about him that I like. Probably not as much as Jace at this point, but I still like him!

Jessamine got on my last nerve. I at first liked her because she reminded me a little of Isabelle (I hope I spelled that right). After a couple appearances with her, she got annoying.

There was just so much world building and character development and it was so well done! Cassandra Clare really knows how to develop characters and create a world where you can vividly imagine it in your mind. I love her writing style as well; although it is in 3rd person, it was still really easy to connect!

Okay, I’m a little upset… I was accidentally spoiled in the ending of Clockwork Princess.. And yes, to those that have finished the trilogy it’s the BIGGEST spoiler there is to the trilogy.. I’m a little upset. But, I will continue the trilogy at some point.

favorite quotes

“One must always be careful of books,” said Tessa, “and what is inside them, for the words have the power to change us.” –page 87

.

“They ate it too,” Will reminisced. “Bloodthirsty little beasts. Never trust a duck.” –page 199

.

“Whatever you are physically,” he said, “male or female, strong or weak, ill or healthy–all those things matter less than what your heart contains. If you have the soul of a warrior, you are a warrior.  Whatever the color, the shape, the design of the shade that conceals it, the flame inside the lamp remains the same. You are that flame.”–page 283

Challenge This Belongs To:

10659230075_041c6126f7_z

5 thoughts on “Review: Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-up: January 2014 | Brianna's Bookish Confessions

Leave a comment